对手术的免费支持。直接支付给医院。
家庭、朋友和支持

顶级手术后护理清单

Louise D.

对于许多正在过渡的变性人来说,顶级手术是一个巨大而重要的里程碑。无论您的目标是去除乳房组织并显得更男性化,还是您正在寻找乳房植入物以使您看起来更女性化,您的顶级手术可能对您来说非常重要,因为您的胸部外观是任何人的焦点变性病人。

顶级手术恢复过程

顶级手术恢复通常需要 6 到 8 周,并涉及详细的术后指导。通常,可以相当准确地跟踪恢复的不同阶段。然而,重要的是要记住,每个人都是不同的,所以经验不是普遍的。您的胸部最终可能会比您预期的更快或更慢地愈合,但这仍然可以。每个人的体质都不一样,幕后会有一些因素在发挥作用。

敷料

手术敷料会有所不同,具体取决于您是过渡到更男性化还是更女性化的胸部。虽然大多数情况下都会用到一些纱布垫和布带,有时看起来很笨重,但所有这些通常只是为了帮助你的身体适应新的形状。

  • 对于一个更加男性化的外观,敷料将涉及一个压缩捆绑器0或压缩背心,以帮助保持形状并尽可能地减少肿胀。
  • 为了更女性化的外观,敷料将包括一个外科胸罩,它起到压缩粘合剂的作用,但更大,并允许完整乳房的轮廓。这有助于在愈合过程中将植入物保持在适当的位置。

在您第一次术后随访预约之前,通常不会移除敷料。同时,您需要保持敷料清洁和干燥,直到外科医生在第一次随访期间将其取下。

洗澡的重要注意事项:

在您第一次术后预约之前,您将不能淋浴。您也很可能会安装引流管以从切口中清除多余的液体。

活动水平

手术后,您将需要大大限制您的身体活动。重要的是不要在愈合期间拉伤身体,并且在胸部手术后不遵守运动限制会导致更多的疤痕在皮肤上可见并埋在皮肤下。

在您能够再次将手臂举过头顶之前,您将能够以合理的速度恢复正常步行。这是让朋友或家人陪伴您可能会有所帮助的另一个原因,尤其是在手术后的头几天,甚至更远。

恢复时间

无法保证此手术后的恢复时间,这将取决于您的年龄或任何术后并发症等因素。但是,您可以期待一个一般的时间表。在大多数情况下,我们试图按周划分它。

整形手术后的第一周

恢复的第一周通常是最痛苦的,在此期间您将需要最多的帮助。您的活动将受到很大限制,您将无法淋浴,您将需要仰卧睡觉,并且您的体内将有外科引流管。排水管需要定期排空,并且有人需要密切注意可能是并发症导致的任何感染或出血迹象。

建议您将运动保持在最低限度。海绵浴或婴儿湿巾可能是保持自己清洁的好方法,但您需要海绵浴的帮助。除非医生出于某种意外原因告诉您这样做,否则您将无法自行拆除绷带。

如果您患高血压或血栓形成的风险较高,则穿压缩袜可能是个好主意。

此外,在顶部手术前后两周遵循健康饮食也很重要。在大多数情况下,你的手术团队会建议你遵循低钠饮食,特别是在你的胸部愈合时。

术后2至3周

这时你会开始感觉好些,愈合过程会更明显。你将能更多地走动,但需要注意节奏。活动仍然受到限制,但你的术后预约(第一次术后预约)将在这之前进行,所以你将能够洗澡。

你也很可能会经历从手术部位拔出引流管的过程,这将进一步提高你的舒适度。目前还不允许进行剧烈活动,但如果你有文职工作,你可以返回工作岗位。

术后4至5周

现在你会感觉好多了,但不要过度用力。你仍然不能把你的手臂举得很高。抬起它们不仅会引起疼痛,还会增加皮肤下的疤痕。

这也是您开始疤痕治疗的时间。您的外科医生可能会建议减少疤痕按摩,您可以开始使用面霜来减少可见的疤痕。

术后6至8周

你实际上已经恢复了正常。可能仍有一些限制,但这将取决于你的外科医生。唯一仍然存在的运动限制是你不能将肘部抬到肩膀以上。这种限制可能在初次手术后三个月内仍然存在。

手术后

与任何大手术一样,您可以预期与顶级手术相关的一定程度的不适。手术后的最初几天通常是最糟糕的,一旦移除手术引流管,情况就会开始迅速好转。

你可以采取一些措施来减少疼痛和不舒服的感觉。防滑鞋和带拉链的连帽衫或扣子衬衫对行动限制有好处。姜茶可以帮助缓解与麻醉恢复有关的恶心。冷敷或冰袋也有利于抵御发烧和减少肿胀。如果你没有冰袋,你可以用一袋冷冻豌豆来减轻肿胀并帮助控制胸痛。

药物

外科医生可能会开一些止痛药,你需要在胸部手术(FTM顶部手术)后服用一段时间。这些药物很可能是大手术后病人康复的标准药物。抗生素、消炎药和止痛药是常见的,而且可能非常有帮助。

我们确实需要谈论的与手术本身的关系较小,而与您的整体健康有关。与您的外科医生仔细讨论术后疼痛缓解是一个好主意。

缓解疼痛非常重要,可以极大地帮助减轻手术后的压力水平,但您还需要确保您最终不会对处方药产生依赖。

这可能是您第一次服用阿片类药物,很容易天真地依赖它们。这会极大地影响您的余生,与您的外科医生讨论这些风险非常重要。但是,绝对有一种方法可以负责任地采取有助于您康复的方式。

并发症

虽然我们从不希望发生手术并发症,但我们需要承认它们有时确实会发生。如果您准备好应对与顶部手术相关的任何并发症,它真的可以帮助我们康复。

并发症的常见迹象是切口部位周围过度疼痛、出血、肿胀或发红。如果您发现类似情况或发烧,请务必立即联系您的外科医生或其他医疗保健提供者。

血栓

这可能是您在大手术后可能面临的最严重的并发症。它被认为是医疗紧急情况,需要立即干预。如果不立即治疗,可能导致终身残疾甚至死亡。

精神健康

许多人在接受顶级手术后的一段时间内都非常高兴和如释重负。这是一个重要的里程碑,并且已经有很长时间了。但是,这仍然存在风险。重大外科手术后,抑郁的感觉也很常见,尤其是在这样一个重要的里程碑事件之后,患者可能会在事后感到无方向。

患者也常常觉得这种手术可以解决他们的很多问题,如果不是全部的话,但通常情况并非如此。这可能会导致情绪严重崩溃。恢复时间也相当长,有时会感到不舒服。

所有这些事情往往会导致顶部手术后的情绪崩溃。了解这种风险可能有助于为它做好准备。请记住,如果这确实发生在您身上,请联系心理健康护理专家,或者可以帮助您度过难关的朋友或家人。

免费援助
直接支付给医院。
没有标记。

    (电子邮件, WhatsApp, FB, IG, 手机)
    谢谢你!
    您提交的材料已被收到!
    哎呀!提交表格时出了点问题。

    最近的文章

Free of Charge Support for Surgeries. Payments Made Directly to Hospital.
Family, Friends & Support

Top Surgery Aftercare Checklist

Louise D.

Top surgery is a massive and important milestone for many transgender individuals who are transitioning. Whether your goal is to remove breast tissue and appear more masculine or whether you are looking for breast implants so that you can appear more feminine, your top surgery will likely be very important to you as the appearance of your chest is a focal point for any transgender patient.

Top Surgery Recovery Process

Top surgery recovery usually takes from 6 to 8 weeks and involves detailed post-op instructions. Usually, there are distinct stages to recovery that can be tracked fairly accurately. However, it is essential to remember that each individual is different, so the experience is not universal. Your chest could end up healing faster or slower than you expected and that is still okay. Everyone’s body is different and there will be some factors playing their part behind the scenes.

Dressings

The surgical dressings will differ depending on whether you are transitioning to a more masculine or more feminine-looking chest. Although mostly there is a fair bit of gauze pads and cloth tape involved and it can sometimes look quite bulky, all of this is usually just to help your body adjust to the new shape.

  • For a more masculine look, the dressing will involve a compression binder 0r a compression vest to help keep the shape and minimize swelling as much as possible.
  • For a more feminine look, the dressing will involve a surgical bra which functions as a compression binder but is larger and allows for the contour of a full breast. This helps to keep implants in place during the healing process.

Dressings are usually not removed until your first post-operative follow-up appointment. In the meantime, you will need to keep the dressings clean and dry until the surgeon can remove them during that first follow up appointment.

Important note on taking a Shower:

Until your first post-operative appointment, you will not be allowed to shower. You will also most likely have drains in place to remove extra fluid from your incisions.

Level of Activity

Following surgery, you will need to greatly limit your physical activity. It is important not to strain your body while it is healing, and not adhering to movement restrictions following surgery on your chest results in more scarring both visible on the skin and buried beneath the skin.

You will be able to resume regular walking at a reasonable pace long before you will be able to lift your arms above your head again. This is another reason why it might be helpful to have a friend or family member stay with you, especially during the first few days following the procedure, but even beyond that.

Recovery Time

Recovery time following this surgery is not guaranteed and will depend on factors such as your age or any postoperative complications. However, there is a general timeline that you can expect. We have tried to divide it by week, for the most part.

First Week After Plastic Surgery

The first week of recovering is often the most painful and you will require the most help during this time. Your movement will be very restricted, you will not be able to shower, you will need to sleep on your back, and you will have surgical drains in your body. Drains need to be emptied regularly and someone needs to keep a close eye open for any signs of infection or bleeding that might be the result of a complication.

It is advised that you keep movement to a minimum overall. Sponge baths or baby wipes can be a good way to keep yourself clean, but you will need help with a sponge bath. You will not be able to remove your own bandages unless a doctor tells you to do so for some unexpected reason.

If you are at a higher risk of high blood pressure or thrombosis it might be a good idea to wear compression socks.

Additionally, it is also important to follow a healthy diet two weeks before and after top surgery. In most cases, your surgical team would advise you to follow a low sodium diet, especially as your chest heals.

2 to 3 Weeks After Surgery

This is when you will start to feel better and the healing process will be more evident. You will be able to walk around more but will need to pace yourself. Movement is still restricted but your postoperative appointment (first post-op appointment) will take place just before this so you will be able to shower.

It is also likely that you will go through drain removal from the surgical site, which will improve your comfort level even more. No strenuous activity is allowed yet, but you can return to work if you have a desk job.

4 to 5 Weeks After Surgery

You will be feeling much better by now, but do not overexert yourself yet. You still won’t be able to lift your arms very high. Lifting them will not only cause pain but does increase scarring beneath the skin.

This is also around the time when you will start scar treatments. Your surgeon might suggest scar reduction massage and you can start to use creams to reduce visible scarring.

6 to 8 Weeks After Surgery

You are practically back to normal. There might be some restrictions still in place, but that will depend on your surgeon. The only movement restriction still in place is that you cannot lift your elbows above your shoulders. This restriction is likely to remain in place up to three months after the initial surgery.

Right After Surgery

As with any major surgery, you can expect a certain level of discomfort associated with top surgery. The first few days after the procedure are often the worst, and things start improving rapidly once the surgical drains are removed.

There are some steps that you can take to minimize pain and feeling uncomfortable. Slip-on shoes and a zip-up hoodie or button-up shirts are good for movement restrictions. Ginger tea can help ease nausea associated with recovery from anesthesia. A cold compress or ice packs are also good for fighting off fevers and reducing swelling. If you don’t have an ice pack, you can use a bag of frozen peas to reduce swelling and help manage chest pain.

Medications

The surgeon is likely to prescribe some pain management medications that you will need to take for a while following chest surgery (FTM Top Surgery). They are likely to be fairly standard stuff for a patient healing from major surgery. Antibiotics, anti-inflammatory meds, and pain relievers are common and can be extremely helpful.

What we do need to talk about is less related to the surgery itself and more related to your overall wellbeing. It is a good idea to discuss post-op pain relief with your surgeon carefully.

Pain relief is very important and can greatly help to reduce your stress levels following the procedure, but you also want to ensure that you do not end up developing a dependency on the medications prescribed.

It might be the first time that you are taking opioids and it is extremely easy to innocently become dependent on them. This can drastically impact the rest of your life and it is important that you discuss these risks with your surgeon. However, there is definitely a way to take them responsibly in a manner that will aid your recovery.

Complications

While we never want surgical complications to happen, we need to admit that they do sometimes happen. And it can really help our recovery if you are prepared for any complications related to top surgery.

Common signs of complication are excessive pain, bleeding, swelling, or redness around the incision site. If you notice anything like that or if you develop a fever it is important to contact your surgeon or other healthcare providers urgently.

Blood Clots

This is probably the most serious complication that you could face following major surgery. It is considered a medical emergency and requires immediate intervention. It can lead to lifelong disability or even death if not treated immediately.

Mental Health

Many people are extremely happy and relieved for some time following their top surgery. It is a significant milestone and has been a long time coming. However, that still holds its own risks. Feelings of depression are also common following major surgical procedures and especially with such a major milestone patients are likely to feel directionless after the fact.

It is also common for patients to feel as if this surgery will solve a great many, if not all, of their problems, which is often not the case. This can cause a significant crash in the mood. The recovery time is also fairly lengthy and can be uncomfortable at times.

All of these things tend to contribute to a mood crash following top surgery. Knowing the risk of this might help significantly in preparing for it. Remember that if this does happen to you, please reach out to a mental health care professional, or friends or family members who can support you through it.

Free Assistance
Pay Direct to the Hospital,
No Markups.

    (Email, WhatsApp, FB, IG, Mobile)
    Thank you!
    Your submission has been received!
    Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.

    RECENT Articles