对手术的免费支持。直接支付给医院。
家庭、朋友和支持

变性手术后的饮食

Louise D.

很少有人了解饮食和营养对变性手术和荷尔蒙替代疗法有多重要。与其他社区相比,变性人社区的营养常常减少,其原因仍有些不清楚。尽管如此,对于正在接受激素治疗并将接受变性手术的变性人来说,营养实际上是至关重要的。

虽然我们在本文中主要使用“变性手术”一词,但这些说明也适用于任何类型的性别确认手术。即使是与性别认同无关的面部女性化手术或整形手术也可以从这些建议中受益。此外,请记住,变性手术不仅意味着女性变男性或男性变女性手术。它还包括增强性别非二元属性的程序。

术后护理

术后护理指导通常由外科医生提供,但患者并不总是遵循。这可能导致疼痛和并发症增加,导致患者不得不返回医院。部分术后护理可能需要家庭成员的帮助,因为活动可能会受到限制,例如顶部手术。

其他术后护理可能包括需要多久更换一次敷料,用淋浴代替海绵给患者洗澡。在大多数情况下,最初的恢复是最困难的,并且在第一周结束时会出现很大的改善。手术后两周内,大多数患者将能够在没有帮助的情况下恢复自己的护理。

手术后的整体健康和愈合

在我们专门研究跨性别健康问题之前,我们必须涵盖一般健康和康复。变性手术的基础是它是大手术。任何大手术都有风险。其中一些风险对每个人来说都是相当标准的。

处于体内平衡(平衡)的身体自然会比不处于平衡状态的身体愈合得更快、更有效。因此,健康的体重、稳定的荷尔蒙水平、良好的饮食习惯、健康的习惯等,在您从大手术中康复时,都会对您有利。

超重患者激素和胰岛素不稳定的风险更大。流向皮肤和四肢的血流量也会减少,血管压力也会增加。所有这些都意味着术后感染的风险增加。

这是建议患者在大手术前戒烟的另一个原因。它会增加血压并减少血流量,从而增加感染的风险并增加治愈所需的时间。

除了总体上不健康之外,酒精还含有大量糖分。它会稀释血液并使胰岛素和皮质醇水平不稳定。任何手术计划都将涉及减少吸烟和饮酒。在极少数情况下,外科医生的指示可能包括减肥。在这种情况下,重要的不是你的外表,而是减肥会降低大手术的风险。

在手术前几周,最好与您的保险公司联系,以确定您的保险将涵盖哪种治疗。在与他们的讨论中包括康复选项和住院时间,以防您在康复期间意外需要额外的治疗。如果出现并发症,事先了解您的保险涵盖的内容和不涵盖的内容将降低您的压力水平。

性别重新分配手术和体重指数

既然我们已经讨论了与大手术相关的一般健康风险,我们需要专门研究跨性别健康。变性手术通常与激素治疗同时进行,这会影响一个人的体重。激素水平的任何变化都会对体重产生暂时的影响。

大多数外科医生要求患者在手术日期前至少接受激素治疗一年,即使世界跨性别健康专业协会没有具体说明。这只是为了确保您的变性手术获得最佳结果,因为您的系统需要多长时间才能完全适应激素变化。过早尝试手术可能会导致意外的术后变化,并且还可能影响手术日期前后的体重。

变性手术与其他大型手术一样,对身体造成很大冲击,因此重要的是让您的身体有足够的空间和时间来适应面部女性化手术或隆胸或其他类型的性别重新分配等手术手术。虽然这些肯定会帮助您对自己的身体感到舒适,但这是一个重大变化,并且在某些情况下可能会遇到无法预料的困难。虽然这不应该阻止你进行变性手术,但它应该鼓励你对可能的不良后果更加认真。

食物摄入和营养

均衡饮食由不同水平的蛋白质、脂肪和碳水化合物组成;盐之类的东西应该是有限的。

蛋白质

蛋白质 常见于豆腐、鸡蛋、种子、鱼和肉等食物中。虽然对跨性别者的蛋白质建议与顺性别者相同(例如,如果跨性别者的睾酮水平达到标准,则其饮食方式应与顺性别者相同),但如果您想增肌或减脂,则可以从中受益蛋白质含量略高的饮食。健康的蛋白质水平也有助于维持体重。

大量摄入蛋白质通常会导致肾脏问题,因此如果您正在使用蛋白质奶昔和其他补充剂,您应该相应地调整蛋白质摄入量。适度的所有东西都是高蛋白饮食的好建议。

胖的

胖的 对健康的饮食也是必不可少的。一般来说,我们有好脂肪和坏脂肪。坏脂肪是动物脂肪和油类之类的东西。优质脂肪可以在鱼、坚果、种子、鳄梨或纯橄榄油中找到。

有趣的是,荷尔蒙是由脂肪组成的,所以控制你摄入的脂肪可以对荷尔蒙平衡产生非常积极的影响。健康摄入优质脂肪也有助于缓解压力,因为它覆盖了你的神经元并控制皮质醇水平。

在任何情况下,最好寻找最接近其自然形态的食物。高度加工的食品会失去营养价值。虽然您的饮食需要良好的脂肪,但不良脂肪(饱和脂肪)会导致健康状况,例如血液中的胆固醇和高甘油三酯。

碳水化合物

碳水化合物 基本上是淀粉和糖,身体可以分解成葡萄糖。意大利面、米饭、土豆、糖和某些谷物等都是碳水化合物。碳水化合物含量高的饮食更难减脂,因为你的新陈代谢会在开始使用脂肪之前使用这些食物获取能量。

碳水化合物也会提高你的血糖,这会鼓励你的身体储存脂肪而不是燃烧它。此外,胰岛素升高会导致皮质醇升高,从而增加压力和焦虑。这样的过程也降低了睾酮水平。

话虽如此,碳水化合物仍然是均衡饮食的重要组成部分。尝试坚持吃更健康的食物、全谷物和淀粉类蔬菜,而不是糖和高度精制的谷物。

其他注意事项

其他注意事项 将包括选择未加工食品而不是加工食品。新鲜的水果和蔬菜也很重要。精制糖也不适合均衡饮食。纤维在均衡饮食中极为重要。我们吃的东西会对我们的皮肤和身体其他部位产生重大影响,因此营养健康的饮食对于变性手术的恢复比大多数人意识到的要重要得多。

通过饮食控制激素水平

降低睾酮:

尝试从种子或坚果等植物性产品以及鸡蛋等食物中获取蛋白质,同时避免吃太多肉。没有必要完全切肉,但减少肉类摄入量会有所帮助。

减少饱和脂肪、油炸和高度加工的食物的摄入。尝试增加大豆摄入量,并尝试吃天然和有机食品。 

降低雌激素:

多摄入高纤维蔬菜。多吃亚麻籽。专注于有机食品,减少咖啡因,远离加工食品。在种子、鱼、坚果和鸡蛋等食物中摄入更多的硫也是有益的。

当您适应激素治疗时,激素的变化和失衡会导致体重波动和皮肤问题。一旦您的身体适应新的激素水平,这应该会趋于平稳。

变性手术后的饮食结构

手术后的前两餐或三餐最好是流质的。

手术后的最初几周应该包括大量的高纤维蔬菜、水果和谷物。可以食用肉类,但应尽可能排除奶酪。

此外,手术后建议低钠饮食,因为钠会导致水潴留。患者最好也完全停止饮酒,或者至少在手术后限制饮酒。

如果您正在服药,那么您应该尝试将您的处方与苹果或酸奶等食品一起服用。这些东西覆盖着你的胃,有助于保护你的胃壁免受刺激性药物的伤害。

新鲜的水果和蔬菜可能很棒。一些水果甚至可以帮助减轻肿胀,如木瓜或菠萝。李子等高纤维水果也是不错的零食选择。冷餐可以帮助减少炎症,所以可以吃冷冻甜点棒(最好是水果而不是冰淇淋)等零食。低钠汤也有助于消肿和止痛。

保持良好的水分很重要,所以要喝水果和蔬菜汁以及大量的水。

这些应该适量食用。虽然它们对愈合有好处,并且在愈合期间可以略微增加消耗量,但过量食用任何东西都可能对您非常不利。

关于药物和补充剂的说明

一些药物可以稀释血液,从而增加出血,因此应在手术前至少两周避免使用:阿司匹林和布洛芬。此外,在恢复这些药物之前,请在手术后至少等待一到两周。

生姜和银杏叶之类的东西或姜黄之类的东西可以很好地对抗炎症和增加整体健康。小心圣约翰疣之类的东西,它通常包含在此列表中。它会严重干扰某些抗抑郁药物。

如果您正在服用任何专门针对经期疼痛或关节炎设计的药物,请告知您的医生,因为这些药物在手术情况下可能很危险。还有一些维生素,例如鱼油、大蒜和维生素 E,应该在手术前至少两周和手术后一周停用。此外,需要停止服用胆固醇药物等药物。

即使您只是偶尔服用,也务必将您服用的每一种药物和补充剂都通知您的医生。他们将能够为您提供有关您可以服用和不能服用的详细信息。他们甚至可能会给您一份应避免使用的所有药物的清单。

尽量避免的食物

没有标明“低钠”的罐头食品,还有糖浆水果罐头。通常需要避免加工奶酪、肉类和谷物,不仅是在变性手术后的几周内。现成的饭菜通常不如家常饭那么健康,但在世界某些地方有一些健康的选择。某些类型的沙拉酱可能富含动物脂肪和其他不健康脂肪,甚至钠。腌制肉类和蔬菜的钠含量很高。白面包和意大利面的碳水化合物含量很高。酒精和含糖食物也会对血流、血糖水平、胰岛素等产生可怕的影响。

关于变性手术的常见问题

变性手术需要多长时间才能痊愈?

您将进行的变性手术类型有不同的时间。但是,一般来说,手术后的最初几天是最艰难的。他们是最痛苦的,并且可能有行动限制。敷料必须定期更换,伤口还新鲜。

一周内,手术引流管被移除,这大大改善了疼痛程度,使患者更容易四处走动。手术后两周内,患者可能会感觉大部分时间都很好,应该恢复工作并恢复轻度运动。

一些意外的手术副作用(如感染)可能会延迟康复,可能导致患者不得不返回医院,或者在极端情况下可能导致再次手术,但这种严重的副作用很少见。

某些形式的变性手术需要考虑。例如,想要接受隆胸以确认其性别认同的跨性别女性可能需要在手术前至少服用一年激素,以使与 HRT 相关的变化得以解决。

对经常被束缚的身体部位进行的任何变性手术风险稍高,因为束缚对该区域的皮肤完整性产生负面影响,这可能导致更长的恢复时间甚至更大的疤痕。

我必须进行变性手术来治疗性别不安吗?

变性手术是治疗性别不安的常见方法,但不是强制性的。你采取了很多措施来帮助你的性别认同,以至于一些跨性别者从不觉得有必要进行变性手术。

跨性别健康要求对性别认同进行逐案处理,以确保每位患者都能得到他们需要的护理。它还规定,可以被视为对顺性别者进行整形手术的程序实际上可以是跨性别者的医学必要程序。

面部女性化手术痛吗?

令人惊讶的是,它被认为比大多数人预期的痛苦更少。任何变性手术都会涉及一些术后疼痛,就像任何手术一样。与您的外科医生讨论疼痛管理很重要。您需要知道可以服用哪些药物以及可以采取哪些其他步骤来控制不适。您的外科医生将能够帮助您解决这个问题。

变性手术后我要住院多久?

您的住院时间将取决于您将接受的手术类型。与仅涉及软组织的较小手术相比,高度复杂的手术或切穿骨骼的手术可能需要更长的住院时间。

您的医院对住院时间的规定可能与另一家医院的规定不同。此外,您的保险公司可能会根据不同的手术对住院时间进行限制。

根据您的手术方式,您的外科医生可能会建议您比您最初预期的住院时间更长。如果您的皮肤因某种原因受到损害,也可能是这种情况,可能是由于广泛的结合等。

医院护理意味着外科医生可以密切监控您的进展,并且可以更快地处理手术的任何副作用,但总体目标是让您早日出院,为另一名患者腾出床位和让您尽快动员起来并适应新的生活。与所有事物一样,平衡很重要。

免费援助
直接支付给医院。
没有标记。

    (电子邮件, WhatsApp, FB, IG, 手机)
    谢谢你!
    您提交的材料已被收到!
    哎呀!提交表格时出了点问题。

    最近的文章

Free of Charge Support for Surgeries. Payments Made Directly to Hospital.
Family, Friends & Support

Diet After Sex Change Surgery

Louise D.

Few people understand just how important diet and nutrition are in conjunction with sex-change surgery and hormone replacement therapy. The transgender community often experiences reduced nutrition compared to other communities, and the reason for this is still somewhat unclear. Nonetheless, for transgender individuals who are on hormone therapy and will receive sex reassignment surgery, nutrition is actually essential.

While we mainly use the term “sex change surgery” in this article, these instructions can also apply to any kind of gender affirmation surgery. Even things like facial feminization surgery or plastic surgery unrelated to gender identity can benefit from these suggestions. Also, remember that a sex change operation does not only mean female to male or male to female surgery. It also includes procedures that enhance gender non-binary attributes.

Sex Change Surgery

Post Op Care

Post-operative care instructions are often provided by a surgeon but not always followed by a patient. This can lead to increased pain and complications that can result in patients having to return to the hospital. Part of post-operative care might involve the help of a family member as movement can be restricted, like in the case of top surgery.

Other post-operative care might involve how often a dressing needs to be changed, substituting a shower for a need to sponge bathe the patient instead. In most cases, the initial recovery is the hardest, and great improvement is noted by the end of the first week. Within two weeks after the procedure, most patients will be able to resume their own care without help.

Sex Change Surgery

Overall Health and Healing From Surgery

Before we look specifically at transgender health issues, we have to cover general health and healing. The underpinning of gender reassignment surgery is that it is major surgery. Any major surgery holds risks. There are some of these risks that are pretty standard for everyone.

A body that is in homeostasis (balance) will naturally heal faster and more effectively than one that is not. Therefore, a healthy weight, stable hormone levels, a good diet, healthy habits, etc., will count in your favor when healing from major surgery.

An overweight patient is at greater risk of hormone and insulin instability. There is also diminished blood flow to the skin and extremities and greater pressure on blood vessels. All of this means an increased risk of post operative infection.

This is another reason why patients are advised to quit smoking before major surgery. It increases blood pressure and decreases blood flow which increases the risk for infection and increases the time it takes to heal.

Alcohol contains a lot of sugar, on top of being overall unhealthy. It thins the blood and destabilizes insulin and cortisol levels. Any surgical plan will involve decreased smoking and alcohol intake. In rare cases, a surgeon’s instructions might include losing weight. In such an incidence, it is not about how you your physical appearance but rather that weight loss will decrease the risks involved in major surgery.

A few weeks prior to a procedure, it is good to check in with your insurance company to make sure what kind of treatments your insurance will cover. Include recovery options and durations of hospital stay in your discussion with them in case you require additional treatments unexpectedly during your recovery. Knowing beforehand what your insurance covers and what it does not will reduce your stress levels should complications arise.

Gender Reassignment Surgery and Body Mass Index

Now that we have discussed general health risks associated with major surgery, we need to break away into transgender health specifically. Sex reassignment surgery often goes hand in hand with hormone therapy, which can impact a person’s weight. Any changes in hormone levels will have temporary effects on weight.

Most surgeons require a patient to have been on hormone therapy for at least one year prior to the surgery date, even if the World Professional Association for Transgender Health does not specify. This is simply to ensure the best possible outcome for your sex change operation because of how long it takes for your system to adjust entirely to the hormone changes. Attempting surgery too soon can result in unexpected post-operative changes, and it might also interfere with weight around the time of the surgery date.

Sex change surgery, like other major surgeries, can be quite a shock on the body, so it is important to allow your body the space and time it needs to adjust to procedures like facial feminization surgery or breast augmentation, or other kinds of gender reassignment surgeries. While these will certainly help you to feel comfortable in your body, it is a major change and can, in some cases, have unforeseen difficulties. While this should not deter you from pursuing sex-change surgery, it should encourage you to be more conscientious about possible adverse outcomes.

Sex Change Surgery

Food Intake and Nutrition

A balanced diet consists of protein, fats, and carbohydrates at varying levels; things like salt should be limited.

Protein

Protein is commonly found in things like tofu, eggs, seeds, fish, and meat. While the protein recommendation for transgender individuals is the same as cisgender individuals (for example, a transman should eat the same way a cisman would if they have standard testosterone levels), if you are trying to build muscle or lose fat, you could benefit from a diet slightly higher in protein. Healthy protein levels also help to sustain weight.

Extensive consumption of protein often leads to kidney problems, so if you are using protein shakes and other supplements, you should adjust your protein intake accordingly. All things in moderation are good advice for a higher protein diet.

Fat

Fat is also essential to a healthy diet. Generally speaking, we have good fats and bad fats. Bad fats are things like animal fats and oils; good fats can be found in fish, nuts, seeds, and avocados or pure olive oils.

Interestingly hormones are made of fats, so control of the fats that you consume can have an extremely positive effect on hormone balances. A healthy intake of good fats also helps with stress because it coats your neurons and controls cortisol levels.

In any circumstance, it is best to look for food that is closest to its natural form. Highly processed foods lose their nutritional value. While good fats are necessary for your diet, bad fats (saturated fats) lead to health conditions like cholesterol and high triglycerides in the blood.

Carbohydrates

Carbohydrates are basically starches and sugars that the body can break down into glucose. Things like pasta, rice, potatoes, sugars, and certain grains are carbohydrates. Diets that are high in carbohydrates make it harder to lose fat because your metabolism will use these foods for energy before it will start using fat.

Carbs will raise your blood sugar as well, and this will encourage your body to store fat rather than burning it. Furthermore, a rise in insulin causes a rise in cortisol which increases stress and anxiety. Such processes also lower testosterone levels.

That being said, carbs are still an essential part of a balanced diet. Try to stick to healthier versions, whole grains, and starchy vegetables rather than sugars and highly refined grains.

Other Considerations

Other considerations would include choosing unprocessed foods above processed options. Fresh fruits and veg are very important as well. Refined sugars are also not ideal for a balanced diet. Fiber is extremely important in a balanced diet. What we eat can have a major impact on our skin and the rest of our body, so a nutritious and healthy diet is far more important in the recovery from sex-change surgery than most people realize.

Controlling Hormone levels through diet

To lower testosterone:

Try to get protein from plant-based products like seeds or nuts, and things like eggs, while avoiding too much meat. It is not necessary to cut meat out completely, but lowering meat intake will help.

Reduce intake of saturated fats, deep-frying, and highly processed things. Try to increase your soy intake and try to eat natural and organic food. 

To lower Estrogen:

Higher intake of vegetables high in fiber. Eat more flaxseed. Focus on organic food, reduce caffeine and stay away from processed food. A higher intake of sulfur in food like seeds, fish, nuts, and eggs can also be beneficial.

Hormone changes and imbalances while you are adjusting to hormone treatments can cause weight fluctuation and skin issues. This should level out once your body adjusts to the new hormone levels.

Breakdown of Diet after undergoing sex-change surgery

Your first two or three meals following surgery should preferably be liquid.

The first few weeks after surgery should include lots of high-fiber vegetables, fruits, and grains. Meat can be consumed, but as far as possible, cheese should be excluded.

Furthermore, a low sodium diet is advised following surgery because sodium leads to water retention. Patients should preferably also cut out alcohol intake completely, or at least limit it extremely following surgery.

If you are taking medications, then you should try to take your prescriptions with things like apple cause or yogurt. Such things coat your stomach and help to protect your stomach lining from harsh medicine.

Fresh fruits and veggies can be great. Some fruits can even help reduce swelling, like papaya or pineapple. High-fiber fruits like prunes are also a good snack option. Colder meals can help to reduce inflammation, so snack on things like frozen dessert bars (preferably fruity ones as opposed to ice cream-based). Low sodium soups can also help with swelling and pain.

It is important to maintain good hydration, so drink fruit and veggie juices and lots of water.

These should be consumed moderately. While they are good for healing and consumption can be increased slightly during the healing period, consuming anything in excess can be quite bad for you.

A Note on Medications and Supplements

Some medications can thin the blood, which increases bleeding and should thus be avoided from at least two weeks before surgery: aspirin and ibuprofen. Also, wait for at least one to two weeks after surgery before resuming these medications.

Things like ginger and ginkgo Biloba or things like turmeric can be great to fight inflammation and increase overall health. Be careful with things like St John’s Wart, which is often included on this list. It can interfere catastrophically with certain antidepressant medications.

Bring it to your doctor’s attention if you are taking any medicine specifically designed for period pain or arthritis, as these can be dangerous in surgical situations. There are also some vitamins, for example, fish oil, garlic, and vitamin E, that should be stopped at least two weeks before surgery and a week after surgery. Also, things like medication for cholesterol need to be stopped.

It is absolutely essential that you notify your doctor of every last medication and supplement that you take, even if you only take them occasionally. They will be able to give you detailed information on what you can take and what you cannot. They might even give you a list of all medications that should be avoided.

Food to avoid as far as possible

Canned food that is not marked as “low sodium”, also canned fruits in syrup. Processed cheese, meats, and grains need to be avoided in general, not only for the few weeks following sex-change surgery. Ready-made meals are often not as healthy as home-cooked meals, but there are some healthy options in some parts of the world. Some types of salad dressing can be high in animal fats and other unhealthy fats or even sodium. Pickled meats and veggies are high in sodium. White breads and pastas are high in carbohydrates. Alcohol and sugary foods also have dire consequences for blood flow, sugar levels, insulin, etc.

Frequently Asked Questions about Sex Change Surgery

How long does it take to heal from sex-change surgery?

There are various times specific to the type of sex-change surgery you will have. However, generally speaking, the first few days after surgery are the hardest. They are most painful, and there can be movement restrictions. Dressing must be changed regularly, and wounds are still fresh.

Within a week, surgical drains are removed, which greatly improves pain levels and makes it easier for the patient to move around. Within two weeks after a procedure, a patient will likely feel fine for the most part and should be back at work and resuming light exercise.

Some unexpected surgical side effects like infection can delay recovery, might result in a patient having to return to the hospital, or, in extreme cases, can lead to another procedure, but such severe side effects are rare.

There are considerations to be made related to some forms of sex-change surgery. For example, trans women who want to receive breast augmentation for their gender identity affirmation might be required to take hormones for at least a year prior to surgery in order to allow HRT-related changes to settle.

Any sex change operation that is done on a part of the body that was often bound is slightly riskier because binding has a negative impact on the integrity of the skin in that area, which can result in longer recovery times or even greater scarring.

Must I have sex-change surgery to treat gender dysphoria?

Sex change surgery is a common treatment for gender dysphoria, but it is not compulsory. There are so many steps that you take to help your gender identity that some trans people never feel the need to go as far as undergoing a sex change operation.

Transgender health demands that gender identity be treated on a case-by-case basis to ensure that each patient receives the care that they need. It also stipulates that procedures that can be seen as plastic surgery for cisgender individuals can actually be a medically necessary procedure for trans people.

Is facial feminization surgery painful?

Surprisingly it is considered a less painful procedure than most people expect. Any sex change operation will involve some post-operative pain, as will be the case with any surgery. It is important to discuss pain management with your surgeon. You need to know what medications you can take and what other steps you can take to manage discomfort. Your surgeon will be able to help you with this.

How long will I stay in hospital after a sex change surgery?

The length of your hospital stay will depend on the type of surgery that you will be undergoing. Highly complex surgery or something that cuts through bone might involve a longer hospital stay than a smaller procedure that involves only soft tissue.

Your hospital might have different rules about the length of your hospital stay than another hospital might. And furthermore, your insurance company might have limits on the length of hospital stay according to different surgeries.

Depending on how your surgery goes, your surgeon might recommend a longer hospital stay than you initially expected. This might also be the case if your skin is somehow compromised, maybe due to extensive binding, etc.

Hospital care means that the surgeon can closely monitor your progress and can deal with any side effects of the surgery much quicker, but overall the goal will be to get you released from the hospital sooner rather than later to free up a bed for another patient and to get you mobilized and adjusting to your new life as soon as possible. As with all things, balance is important.

Free Assistance
Pay Direct to the Hospital,
No Markups.

    (Email, WhatsApp, FB, IG, Mobile)
    Thank you!
    Your submission has been received!
    Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.

    RECENT Articles