对手术的免费支持。直接支付给医院。
健康与养生

FTM 巴氏涂片检查

Megan P.

变性人也被称为女变男的变性人,是指那些出生时有女性生殖器官,但事实上却认同为男性的人。许多男性变性者选择不接受完全的变性手术作为其转变的一部分。这样他们就保留了自己的生殖器官,而这些器官往往会受到癌症等疾病的侵害。

因此,拥有子宫颈的跨性别男性必须遵守与非跨性别患者相同的宫颈癌筛查指南。

癌症筛查无疑对生殖健康至关重要,但出于多种原因,它们可能会导致烦躁和患者不适。跨性别患者在进行巴氏测试时可能会出现内部不和谐,因为他们的生殖器官与他们的性别认同不一致。

其他具有挑战性的因素包括:

  • 忽视出生生殖器官存在的愿望。
  • 在子宫颈上子宫切除术中切除子宫颈的不知情的信念。
  • 有外伤史。
  • 与接受生殖器检查相关的焦虑和压力。

为什么不充分的巴氏试验在跨性别患者中更为普遍

由于跨性别男性生来就有女性生殖器官,因此巴氏试验和宫颈癌筛查尤其会引发他们的性别焦虑。许多跨性别男性最终决定接受完整的变性手术,但情况并非总是如此。

在此之前,他们仍然拥有子宫和子宫颈。这些器官的存在使它们容易患宫颈癌,因此需要定期进行诊断性巴氏试验。

在巴氏试验期间,来自宫颈的细胞和分泌物用于检测和识别宫颈癌或任何可能是癌前病变的变化。由于缺乏细胞或由于血液模糊导致测试不连贯,不充分的巴氏试验在筛查过程中无效。

尽管跨性别男性由于血液模糊而不太可能进行不充分的巴氏试验,但他们可能缺乏足够的细胞来进行充分的测试。这种流行可能是由有助于女性到男性患者肌肉生长和阴茎发育的睾酮疗法的影响引起的。睾酮治疗会导致子宫颈和阴道组织干燥、变薄和收缩,这导致不令人满意的巴氏试验的高发生率。

宫颈癌筛查不仅在身体上存在问题,而且由于生理性别和身份之间的脱节,它们也会导致病理问题。研究表明,跨性别男性发现很难以必要的紧迫性来处理生殖健康,因为他们更愿意完全否认女性生殖器官的存在。

当他们不得不继续考虑宫颈病变的影响时,这并没有提升他们的性别肯定。一项研究表明,大多数跨性别男性将妇科检查视为他们如何看待自己与他们的身体解剖之间的极端情绪冲突的时期。这种冲突只会因生殖健康检查中涉及的身体接触而恶化。 [1]

与非跨性别个体的巴氏试验相比,巴氏试验不令人满意的另一个促成因素是医生在治疗跨性别患者方面缺乏深入的知识和技能。

芬威健康研究所是一家为波士顿大多数 LGBT 社区提供服务的大型医疗机构,其研究人员分析了 3625 名非跨性别女性和 233 名女性对男性患者的巴氏涂片检查结果。结果得出的结论是,跨性别男性更有可能产生不充分的巴氏试验结果,并且更容易出现多次不充分的测试。结果还证明,跨性别患者进来接受后续测试的时间要长五倍。

解决这个问题的方法是提倡替代预防性护理,例如人乳头瘤病毒 DNA 检测。该测试甚至可以被认为是筛查跨性别患者宫颈癌的更有效方法。

许多女性对男性的跨性别者更喜欢保留子宫颈以保持骨盆内部结构和性快感,但选择这条道路的好处很少。如果跨性别患者选择进行全子宫切除术,则子宫颈和子宫被切除,无需再次进行巴氏试验。

跨性别男性的妇科护理

如果你是一个没有接受过生殖器手术的跨性别男人,你需要妇科护理来维持生殖健康。

要确定您的个人医疗保健需求,请找一位您愿意与他分享您的性别历史和担忧的医生。不要让污名或恐惧阻止您尽最大努力照顾好自己。您应该得到与其他人相同的医疗保健标准。

一旦您找到合适的医疗保健专业人员,请务必告知他们您可能正在接受的任何激素治疗,以及您可能接受的任何手术干预。了解您的全部病史和当前的解剖结构对于任何医生进行适当的宫颈癌筛查以及其他情况至关重要。

您可能需要提供完整的性、精神病、产科和妇科病史以及家族病史。为了优化您的妇科检查体验,请向您的医生咨询为您年龄组的跨性别男性推荐的适当筛查测试。

乳房组织健康

男性和女性患者都有乳腺组织。这意味着,尽管为跨性别男性进行了顶级手术切除乳房组织,但您仍然会有残留的乳房组织。尽管风险显着降低,但乳腺癌仍然是一个威胁。

如何促进乳房组织健康:

  • 如果您接受了顶部手术,请熟悉您的胸壁或乳房的形状和感觉,这样您就可以轻松注意到并识别可能有问题的变化。
  • 如果您的家人有乳腺癌病史,请告知您的医生。
  • 索取有关癌症筛查的信息,包括乳房 X 光检查和年度或定期乳房检查。

选择不接受顶级手术切除乳房的跨性别男性必须遵守为非跨性别女性患者制定的癌症筛查建议。但是,这些指南可能会有所不同,因此再次与您的医生就该主题进行多次对话至关重要。

如果您确实切除了乳房组织,则无法进行乳房 X 光检查。如果是这种情况,您可能需要超声波或 MRI 来分析您的乳房组织的健康状况。

骨盆健康

如果您仍然拥有子宫颈、子宫和卵巢,您可能有在这些器官中患上癌症的风险。重要的是要注意睾酮治疗不会降低患这些癌症的风险。

您的骨盆健康非常重要,为了保持这种健康,您的医生可能会建议:
  • 骨盆检查

该检查检查有关阴道、子宫、卵巢和子宫颈健康的问题。在骨盆检查期间,您的医生会感觉到您的阴道内部并评估您的生殖器。他们将使用金属铰链或塑料仪器,以便更轻松地查看您的子宫颈。 FTM 患者可能会认为这是一项具有挑战性的盆腔检查,因为它包括一个更具侵入性的过程,但这一切都是为了您的健康。

  • 性传播感染测试

任何人都可以通过口交、阴道性交或肛交感染 STI。一些常见的性传播感染包括淋病、衣原体、疱疹、肝炎和衣原体。人类免疫缺陷病毒和人类乳头状瘤病毒也可以通过性传播。大多数筛查这些疾病只需要尿液或血液样本。

  • 巴氏试验

在巴氏试验期间,您的医生将使用柔软的小刷子收集宫颈细胞。然后在显微镜下研究这些细胞以筛查任何癌症迹象。

充分了解如何保护自己免受性传播感染对所有出生的女性患者和 FTM 患者都有好处。预防措施包括始终使用安全套并避免无保护的性行为,除非您和您的伴侣是严格一夫一妻制的。

HPV 疫苗等疫苗将在很大程度上保护您免受严重感染并带来可怕的后果。通过接种疫苗也可以预防甲型肝炎和乙型肝炎。

生育能力

许多跨性别男人希望有一天能拥有自己的孩子。尽管这绝不是一项社会或个人义务,但如果这构成您的长期目标的一部分,则计划至关重要。

仍然拥有卵巢和子宫的跨性别男人可以通过与另一个男人性交而怀孕。无论激素疗法和月经规律如何,这都是一种可行的可能性。值得注意的是,睾酮治疗大大降低了受精的机会,但在更年期开始之前,怀孕仍然是一个真正的可能性。

可以但不希望受孕的 FTM 患者可以使用避孕药、避孕套或 Mirena 等预防性辅助手段。

如果您正在接受男性化激素,那么开始包括雌激素给药在内的节育措施可能是不明智的。这将最大限度地减少性别肯定激素疗法的影响。

如果在某个时候,您想生孩子,请咨询您的医生以了解最佳行动方案。如果是这种情况,您将无法继续进行睾酮治疗。现代医学和技术通过收集和冷冻未受精的卵子和卵巢组织,为未来可能的怀孕做准备成为可能。这些服务通常在生育诊所提供。然而,这样的程序非常昂贵,所以如果您正在考虑生孩子,在开始激素治疗或完成变性手术之前进行此计划会更具成本效益。

睾酮治疗

睾酮激素治疗有一些意想不到的影响,在进行治疗之前需要考虑这些影响。例如,性唤起将更加频繁和突出。阴蒂会变大,阴道壁会变薄。如果您处于接受性行为的接受端,您可能会感到疼痛和流血。这些不良影响可以通过在性交过程中使用水基润滑剂来抵消。您的医生也可能会开一种外用乳膏来缓解疼痛症状。

参加生殖健康检查预约的跨性别男人的提示

跨性别者与任何非跨性别者同样有发生相同生殖并发症的风险。尽管如此,生殖健康检查显然更令人尴尬、不舒服和侵入性,更不用说对性别焦虑有害了。

在参加考试之前,请记住以下一些有用的提示:
  • 不要过度思考这个过程。
  • 带上值得信赖的家人或朋友一起寻求支持。
  • 确认您的医疗服务提供者有治疗跨性别男人的经验。
  • 不要害怕表达你的担忧和恐惧。

为即将到来的考试找到一个可行的策略可能是一个真正的挑战,但无论你做什么,都不要忽视这一责任。维持您的生殖健康对您的整体健康和快乐至关重要。

闭幕词

医疗部门正逐渐变得更加包容和理解跨性别者在生殖健康方面面临的独特挑战。尽管承认女性生殖器可能会令人困惑,有时甚至有害,但筛查和一般检查可以真正挽救您的生命。你勇敢而坚强,你可以克服这些考试可能唤醒的任何不安情绪。从本质上讲,最重要的是您健康、快乐并且对您的整体健康感到放心。

资料来源:《世界日报》。

[1] https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/18586186/

免费援助
直接支付给医院。
没有标记。

    (电子邮件, WhatsApp, FB, IG, 手机)
    谢谢你!
    您提交的材料已被收到!
    哎呀!提交表格时出了点问题。

    最近的文章

Free of Charge Support for Surgeries. Payments Made Directly to Hospital.
Health & Wellness

FTM Pap Smear

Megan P.

Transgender men also referred to as female-to-male transgender individuals, are people who were born with female reproductive organs but, in fact, identity as males. Many male transgender patients choose not to undergo complete sex reassignment surgery as part of their transition. They then preserve their natal reproductive organs, which can often be subjected to diseases like cancer.

Therefore, it is essential that transgender men who possess a cervix adhere to the same cervical cancer screening guidelines as non-transgender patients.

Cancer screenings are undoubtedly crucial to reproductive health, but they may lead to dysphoria and patient discomfort for several reasons. Transgender patients may experience internal discord when getting a pap test because their reproductive organs do not align with their gender identity.

Other challenging factors include:

  • The desire to ignore the presence of natal reproductive organs.
  • The uninformed belief that the cervix is removed during a supracervical hysterectomy.
  • A history of trauma.
  • Anxiety and stress associated with undergoing genital examinations.

Why Inadequate Pap Tests Are More Prevalent In Transgender Patients

Because transgender men were born with female reproductive organs, pap tests and cervical cancer screening can be especially triggering to their gender dysphoria. Many transgender men eventually decide to undergo complete sex reassignment surgery, but this is not always the case.

Until that happens, they still possess a uterus and a cervix. The presence of these organs makes them susceptible to cervical cancer, and regular diagnostic Pap tests are required.

During a pap test, cells and secretions from the cervix are used to detect and identify cervical cancer or any changes that may be precancerous. Inadequate Pap tests aren’t valid in the screening process because of a lack of cells or due to obscuring blood rendering the test incoherent.

Although transgender men are less likely to have inadequate Pap tests due to obscured blood, they are likely to lack sufficient cells for an adequate test. This prevalence may be caused by the effects of testosterone therapy that aid in muscle growth and penile development in female to male patients. Testosterone therapy leads to the tissue of the cervix and vagina to dry, thin, and shrink, which contributes to the high occurrence of unsatisfactory Pap tests.

Not only are cervical cancer screenings problematic in a physical sense, but they also result in pathological issues because of the disconnect between biological sex and identity. Research suggests that transgender men find it difficult to approach reproductive health with the necessary urgency because they would prefer to deny the existence of female reproductive organs altogether.

It does not elevate their gender affirmation when they have to keep considering the repercussions of cervical pathology. A study showed that most transgender men view gynecologic exams as a time of extreme emotional conflict between how they view themselves versus their physical anatomy. This conflict is only worsened by the physical touch involved in reproductive health exams. [1]

Another contributing factor to the presence of unsatisfactory Paps compared to Pap tests of non-transgender individuals is the lack of insightful knowledge and skills on the physician’s part regarding treating transgender patients.

Researchers at the Fenway Health Institute, an immense healthcare facility that serves the majority of the LGBT community in Boston, analyzed Pap test results from 3625 non-transgender females and 233 female-to-male patients. The results concluded that transgender men are much more likely to yield inadequate Pap test results along with being more prone to have multiple inadequate tests. The results also proved that transgender patients take five times longer to come in to undergo their follow-up tests.

The solution to this problem would be to advocate alternative preventative care such as human papilloma virus DNA testing. This test could even be considered to be a more effective method of screening for cervical cancer in transgender patients.

Many female-to-male transgender individuals prefer to keep their cervix to preserve the inner pelvic architecture and sexual pleasure, but the benefits of choosing this path are few. If a transgender patient chooses to undergo a total hysterectomy, the cervix and the uterus is removed, and there will be no need for a Pap test again.

Gynecological Care For Transgender Men

If you are a trans man who hasn’t undergone genital surgery, you need gynecological care to maintain reproductive health.

To identify your individual healthcare needs, find a doctor with whom you feel comfortable sharing your gender history and concerns. Don’t let stigma or fear keep you from looking after yourself to the best of your abilities. You deserve the same healthcare standard as anyone else.

Once you have found a suitable healthcare professional, be sure to inform them of any hormonal treatment you may be receiving, along with any surgical interventions you may have undergone. Knowing your full history and current anatomy is essential for any doctor to perform appropriate screening for cervical cancer, among other conditions.

You will likely be required to provide a full sexual, psychiatric, obstetric, and gynecologic history along with a family medical history. To optimize your experience with gynecologic exams, ask your doctor about appropriate screening tests recommended for transgender men of your age group.

Breast Tissue health

Both male and female patients have breast tissue. This means that despite having top surgery for trans men to remove breast tissue, you’ll still have residual breast tissue. Although the risk is significantly reduced, breast cancer is still a threat.

How to promote breast tissue health:

  • Become familiar with the form and feel of your chest wall or breasts if you underwent top surgery so you would easily notice and identify changes that may be problematic.
  • Inform your doctor if your family has a history of breast cancer.
  • Request information about cancer screenings, including mammograms and yearly or regular breast exams.

Trans men who chose not to have top surgery to have their breasts removed are required to adhere to cancer screening recommendations set for non-transgender female patients. However, these guidelines may vary, so it is once again crucial to have numerous conversations with your doctor regarding this subject.

A mammogram won’t be possible if you indeed had your breast tissue removed. If this is the case, you may have an ultrasound or an MRI to analyze the health of your breast tissue.

Pelvic Health

If you still possess a cervix, uterus, and ovaries, you might be at risk of developing cancer in these organs. It is important to note that testosterone treatment does not lower the risk of developing these cancers.

Your pelvic health is of great importance, and to maintain this health, your doctor may recommend:
  • A pelvic exam

This exam checks for issues concerning the health of the vagina, uterus, ovaries, and cervix. Your doctor will feel inside your vagina during a pelvic exam and evaluate your genitals. They will use a metal-hinged or plastic instrument to make it easier to view your cervix. FTM patients may consider it to be a challenging pelvic examination as it includes a more invasive process, but it is all done for your better health.

  • Sexually transmitted infection tests

Anyone can obtain an STI by engaging in oral, vaginal, or anal sex. Some common STIs include gonorrhea, chlamydia, herpes, hepatitis, and chlamydia. The Human Immunodeficiency virus and the human papilloma virus are also sexually transmittable. Most screening for these conditions simply requires a urine or blood sample.

  • Pap test

During a Pap test, your physician will use a soft, small brush to collect cervical cells. These cells are then studied under a microscope to screen for any signs of cancer.

It is to the advantage of all natal female patients and FTM patients alike to be well informed concerning how to protect yourself from sexually transmitted infections. Preventative measures include always using a condom and avoiding unprotected sex unless you and are partner are strictly monogamous.

Vaccines such as HPV vaccination will go a long way in protecting you against serious infections with dire consequences. Hepatitis A and Hepatitis B can also be prevented with the administration of vaccinations.

Fertility

Many trans men wish to one day have children of their own. Although this is by no means a social or personal obligation, planning is crucial if this forms part of your long-term goals.

Trans men who still possess their ovaries and a uterus can get pregnant by having intercourse with another man. This is a viable possibility regardless of hormonal therapy and menstrual regularities. It is worth noting that testosterone therapy greatly decreases your chances of being fertilized, but pregnancy remains a real possibility up until the onset of menopause.

FTM patients who can but do not wish to be impregnated can make use of preventative aids like birth control pills, condoms, or a Mirena, among other methods.

If you are receiving masculinizing hormones, it may not be wise to commence birth control that includes the administration of estrogen. This will minimize the effects of gender-affirming hormone therapy.

If, at some point, you desire to bear a child, consult your doctor about the best course of action. You will not be able to continue testosterone treatment if this is the case. Modern medicine and technology have made it possible to prepare for a possible future pregnancy by collecting and freezing unfertilized eggs and ovarian tissue. These services are typically available at fertility clinics. However, such procedures are quite expensive, so if you are considering having children, it would be more cost-effective to proceed with this plan before starting hormone therapy or completing sex reassignment surgery.

Testosterone Treatment

Testosterone hormone therapy has some unexpected repercussions that need to be considered before committing to treatment. For example, sexual arousal will be much more frequent and prominent. The clitoris will enlarge, and your vaginal walls will thin. If you are on the receiving end of receptive sex, you may experience pain and bleeding. These unwanted effects can be countered by using a water-based lubricant during intercourse. Your doctor may also prescribe a topical cream to relieve symptoms of pain.

Ftm Pap Smear

Tips For Trans Men Attending A Reproductive Health Examination Appointment

Trans men are equally at risk of developing the same reproductive complications as any non-transgender person. Still, reproductive health exams are evidently more embarrassing, uncomfortable, and invasive, not to mention being harmful to gender dysphoria.

Here are some helpful tips to keep in mind before going for an exam:
  • Don’t overthink the process.
  • Bring a trusted family member or friend along for support.
  • Confirm that your medical provider has experience in treating trans men.
  • Don’t be afraid to voice your concerns and fears.

It may be a real challenge to find a working strategy on how to approach upcoming exams, but whatever you do, do not neglect this responsibility. The upkeep of your reproductive health is absolutely crucial to your overall wellbeing and joy.

Closing Remarks

The medical sector is gradually becoming more accommodating and understanding of the unique challenges that trans men face regarding their reproductive health. Although it may be confusing and sometimes even harmful to acknowledge female genitalia, screening, and general examinations could truly save your life. You are brave and strong, and you can conquer any feelings of dysphoria that these exams may awaken. Essentially, the most important thing is that you are healthy, happy, and reassured of your overall wellbeing.

Sources:

[1] https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/18586186/

Free Assistance
Pay Direct to the Hospital,
No Markups.

    (Email, WhatsApp, FB, IG, Mobile)

    Thank you!
    Your submission has been received!
    Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.

    RECENT Articles