对手术的免费支持。直接支付给医院。
家庭、朋友和支持

教师如何支持变性学生

Louise D.

几乎每50个美国高中生中就有一个是变性人,而这些变性学生中令人震惊的是,有很多人表示在学校环境中感到无助、悲伤和不安全。

在大流行期间,已经通过了一些有问题的立法,限制跨性别学生进入不分性别的设施(如更衣室)和活动(如运动)。有明显迹象表明,此类立法正在严重影响跨性别学生在学校环境中从成年人那里获得的支持水平。

总体而言,工作人员对待跨性别学生的方式似乎因人而异。一些教师和工作人员非常支持,而另一些教师和工作人员对跨性别学生的虐待是边缘性的,然后在这两个极端中间有一个完整的范围。

学校环境中普遍存在歧视(来自工作人员和同学),多达 71% 的跨性别学生在学校以一种或另一种形式面临歧视。这甚至没有考虑对其他少数群体的歧视程度。

有明确的证据表明,工作人员的支持增强了跨性别青年的学校体验,并为他们的生活奠定了坚实的基础,超越了他们的青春期。似乎需要为教育工作者和管理人员制定有关如何帮助跨性别学生的官方指南。他们中的许多人不想做错事,但也不知道该做什么来帮助。

性别认同

学区的一个主要问题是,许多人并不完全了解性别谱以及它与性取向的区别或与出生时指定的性别有何不同。创建支持性学校环境的建议起点是教育工作者和管理人员的意识措施。也有人呼吁将 LGBTQ+ 意识的基础知识纳入学校课程,以在学生中传播意识。全面介绍这种事情并不容易,但在这一点上,如果可以在一些学校做到,这将是朝着正确方向迈出的第一步。

公立学校迫切需要包容性课程,甚至可能需要学校官员接受专门培训,以促进 LGBTQ+ 青年获得公平的教育机会。如果可以在学校层面为跨性别学生和与性别认同斗争的学生创造一种理解和接受的文化,那么跨性别学生的未来就会变得更加光明。我们在学校所经历的文化常常深深影响我们的成年预期寿命。

性别不合格学生和非二元学生

当您与 LGBTQ+ 环境几乎没有接触时,可能更难以理解的性别谱部分是不符合性别和非二元性学生的位置。

性别不合格涉及不遵守文化上接受的性别规范和期望。非二元学生是不坚持性别二元方法(男性或女性)的学生,并且经常会觉得他们有多种性别或根本没有性别(或者他们可能会在性别谱上的点之间移动)。

性取向

此外,许多人不理解取向与性别认同不同。作为传播意识的一种手段,澄清这些差异可能是恰当的。虽然本文的重点是跨性别学生,但我们也认识到,改善跨性别学生的学校环境会自动(在大多数情况下)为其他 LGBTQ+ 学生带来进一步的改善。

这样做的原因是简单的。如果我们将宽容和尊重作为一种文化传播给学校教职员工和学生,我们就会提高宽容和接受度,而不仅仅是跨性别学生的范围。

跨性别青年

目前,由于一项关于学校对儿童进行性别歧视的法案,对跨性别学生的歧视是非法的。特朗普政府撤回了一份文件,该文件解释了美国法律对跨性别学生在学校公平待遇的规定,这给学校造成了很大的混乱。然而,重要的是要记住,仅仅因为他们撤回了解释这些法律的文件并不意味着法律完全改变了;它们仍然相同,仍然需要遵循。

跨性别青年是美国最脆弱的少数群体之一,当我们考虑一个有色人种的跨性别学生时更是如此。变性学生的心理健康是学校官员的首要任务,这一点至关重要。即使他们无法为跨性别学生实施保护,他们至少应该为所有面临心理健康危机风险的学生建立基本的支持结构。他们还需要确保在学校(私立和公立学校)有法律规定的反对性别歧视的措施。

此外,积极的学校文化和跨性别平等需要尽可能成为优先事项。应该努力在教育机构内的宗教表达自由和性别表达自由之间找到平衡。

在课堂上采用中性代词

许多教育工作者支持跨性别学生的第一步可能是在课堂上采用中性代词。这是一个可以巧妙地采取的步骤,并且可以以不直接歧视班上其他学生的方式完成。因此,不要对那些弄错代词的学生过于挑剔也很重要。

在课堂上所做的任何努力都可以帮助跨性别学生在学校感到更安全。教师不应该仅仅因为没有学生“看起来”像变性人,就认为实际上没有学生是变性人或质疑他们的性别认同。这些学生必须有一个支持性的环境,即使只有一名工作人员,他们也可以在那里寻求支持和接受。

平衡教师和同学的宗教信仰

在这种环境下,学校面临的最大挑战之一是必须平衡跨性别学生的权利与其他学生和教师的宗教自由权。即使学校想要支持跨性别学生,这并不总是一个可以实现的目标,因为这会使他们面临教职员工和其他宗教信仰否定跨性别权利的学生的诉讼。

这种情况使学校很难做正确的事情,这是双方都尊重的事情,而且他们经常不得不朝着立法和法律先例所指示的方向弯曲。已经拥有有限资源的学校很可能也不会冒昂贵的诉讼风险。

问题变成了,谁的权利更重要?让人们感到自在地表达他们的宗教观点是否更重要?还是让人们感到自在地表达自己的性别认同更重要?你可能对其中一个有强烈的感觉,但这对全世界的学校来说都是一个基本的道德难题。即使在平等权利胜过个人偏好的国家,在这样的辩论中找出支持硬币的哪一面也可能非常棘手。对于许多美国学区来说,这是一场持续的斗争。

可以做些什么来保护跨学生

熟悉 Title IX 指南。您还可以熟悉其他文件,并且可以咨询学区律师以获取更多信息。

您还可以倡导修改旨在保护跨性别学生的立法。

与你的学生一起做一个调查,看看你在哪里可能遇到与偏见有关的问题。尝试做好准备并尝试保持沟通畅通。

改善学校氛围和文化的一种好方法是对期望的行为进行建模。尊重和平等对待跨性别儿童。学生应该感到受到尊重和支持,教职员工和学生应该学会尊重跨性别学生的权利。其中一些学生在家中没有支持,因此拥有为他们提供安全空间的学校环境对他们的心理健康非常有价值。

大多数学校心理学家可以帮助这些企业,因为他们的管理机构是跨性别学生权利和整体跨性别权利的倡导者。他们通常还可以联系具有跨性别权利经验的国家中心或国家协会,例如全国学校心理学家协会。

支持跨性别权利的学生俱乐部也应该得到学校心理学家和校长的支持和鼓励。

应该鼓励性别多样性,并相应地处理歧视。联邦法律禁止基于性别认同的歧视(标题 IX)。

促进对所有学生权利的保护,包括跨性别学生的权利。这可能是一项艰巨的任务,但只要对所有观点的适度和宽容进行建模,在大多数情况下应该是可以实现的。

促进可访问性。评估您拥有的资源(例如更衣室)以及这可能如何影响跨性别者,然后尽量减少有问题的情况。

实施心理健康危机协议。如果跨性别学生的性别表达之旅出现问题,他们可能需要此类干预。因此,在学校获得服务是非常有价值的。对于不一定是跨性别但只需要一些危机干预来改善他们的一般心理健康的学生来说,它也可能是一种宝贵的资源。

实施镜子和窗户。这个项目是指创造积极的例子并鼓励学生在学年期间可以接触到的积极交流。它最好代表他们的年龄组以及成年人,以建立长期承诺。

了解和教授礼仪。如前所述,许多教师不确定跨性别学生的哪些行为是可以接受的,哪些不是。如果教师是这种情况,那么只有对从未见过变性人的学生假设同样的情况才是安全的。对于大多数人来说,出生时分配性别的概念是一个不可协商的概念,仅仅因为他们是如何长大的。他们从来没有遇到过了解诸如感知性别认同之类的东西的人,更不用说跨性别学生了。

传播意识和理解可以简化与更衣室访问相关的过渡。如果学生能真正理解跨性别学生不是 男生 使用 女孩们 更衣室,那么学生群体的强烈反对可能会减少——学校运动队也是如此。

理想情况下,学校应尽可能倡导全面禁止联邦歧视。我们对整个国家的未来负有责任。

学校官员面临的挑战

事实是,学校领导有权创建一个学校社区,为学生提供一个安全的空间,让他们感到安全和被接受;所需要的只是学校董事会的一些工作和支持。

学校在塑造学生的生活方面发挥着重要作用,许多学校不再认真对待这一点。每天都有几名学生在学校遭受欺凌,学校工作人员过度劳累,学校设施被忽视(由于资金不足),学生们只能自己动手,因为他们中的许多人都在家。

话虽如此,学校领导无法独自管理这些理想。学区依赖于资金。在涉及公民权利时,他们也受到反跨性别立法和矛盾或灰色地带的摆布。

像人权运动这样的组织可以为他们提供一些支持,但与此同时,他们需要通过教育部办公室等机构,不幸的是,这是一个漫长而乏味的过程,占用了员工宝贵的时间。

理想情况下,这些文化变革需要在儿童生活中的小学阶段实施。然后中学校长必须接手,最后,责任转嫁给高中领导。期望这些变化从高中阶段开始并且仍然成功是不公平的。性别认同问题需要早在人们上高中之前就引起人们的注意,因为这种社会结构是在生命的早期形成的。

此外,虽然最高法院有支持跨性别学生公民权利的裁决,但学校仍然难以执行此类规则,尤其是允许跨性别学生使用学生偏好的性别身份的更衣室,因为其他学生的父母往往不了解性别认同。这种问题给学校工作人员带来了很大的压力。

免费援助
直接支付给医院。
没有标记。

    (电子邮件, WhatsApp, FB, IG, 手机)
    谢谢你!
    您提交的材料已被收到!
    哎呀!提交表格时出了点问题。

    最近的文章

Free of Charge Support for Surgeries. Payments Made Directly to Hospital.
Family, Friends & Support

How Teachers Can Support Transgender Students

Louise D.

Almost 1 in 50 US high school students are transgender, and an alarmingly high number of those transgender students reported feeling helpless, sad, and unsafe in their school environments.

During the pandemic, some problematic legislation has been passed that limits transgender students’ access to gender-neutral facilities (such as locker rooms) and activities (such as sports). There are clear signs that this sort of legislation is seriously impacting the level of support that transgender students receive from adults in the school environment.

Overall it seems that how the staff treats transgender students varies substantially between individuals. Some teachers and staff are very supportive, whereas others are borderline abusive towards transgender students, and then there is an entire spectrum in the middle of these two extremes.

Discrimination is rife in the school environment (both from staff members and from fellow students), and numbers as high as 71% of transgender students face discrimination at school in one form or another. This does not even consider the level of discrimination against other minority groups.

There is clear evidence that support from staff members enhances the school experience for transgender youth and builds a strong foundation in their lives that extends beyond their youth. There appears to be a need for official guidelines for educators and administrators on how to help transgender students. Many of them do not want to do anything wrong but also do not know for sure what to do to help.

Transgender Students

Gender Identity

A major problem in school districts is that many people do not entirely understand the gender spectrum and how it is separate from sexual orientation or how it differs from sex assigned at birth. A suggested starting point for creating a supportive school environment has been awareness measures for educators and administrators. There has also been a call to include the basics of LGBTQ+ awareness into school curriculums to spread awareness among students. It won’t be easy to introduce this sort of thing across the board, but at this point, if it can be done in some schools, it would be the first step in the right direction.

An inclusive curriculum is sorely needed in public schools, and it might even be necessary for school officials to receive specialized training in order to facilitate equitable educational opportunities for LGBTQ+ youth. If a culture of understanding and acceptance for transgender students and students struggling with gender identity can be created at a school level, then the future for transgender students becomes much brighter. The culture we experience at school often bleeds strongly into our adult life expectancies.

Gender Non-conforming Students and Non-binary Students

Perhaps a more difficult part of the gender spectrum to understand when you have little contact with the LGBTQ+ context is the position of gender-nonconforming and nonbinary students.

Gender nonconforming involves not adhering to culturally accepted gender norms and expectations. Nonbinary students are students who do not adhere to the binary approach to gender (male or female), and often will feel as though they have multiple genders or no gender at all (or they might move between points on the gender spectrum).

Transgender Students

Sexual Orientation

Furthermore, many people do not understand that orientation is different from gender identity. It might be pertinent to clarify the differences as a means to spread awareness. While the focus of this article is on trans students, we also recognize that improving the school environment for transgender students extends a further improvement for other LGBTQ+ students automatically (in most cases).

The reason for this is simple. If we spread tolerance and respect as a culture among school staff and students, we improve tolerance and acceptance beyond the scope of just transgender students.

Transgender Youth

At the moment, discrimination against transgender students is illegal due to a bill regarding sex-based discrimination against children by schools. The Trump administration had caused much confusion for schools when they withdrew a document explaining what US laws say about the fair treatment of transgender students in school. However, it is essential to remember that just because they withdrew a document explaining these laws does not mean that the laws have changed at all; they are still the same and still need to be followed.

Transgender youth are among the most vulnerable minority groups in the US, even more so when we consider a transgender student of color. It is vital that transgender students’ mental health is a priority for school officials. Even if they are not able to implement protection for trans students, they should at least have rudimentary support structures in place for all students at risk of mental health crises. They also need to ensure that there are measures against sex discrimination in schools (private and public schools) as is stated by the law.

Furthermore, as far as possible, positive school culture and transgender equality need to be a priority. There should be efforts made to find a balance between freedom of religious expression and freedom of gender expression within educational institutions.

Adopting Gender-Neutral Pronouns in the Class Room

The first step for many educators to take in supporting transgender students can be to adopt neutral pronouns in the class room. This is a step that can be taken subtly and can be done in ways that are not directly discriminatory to other students in the class. It is then also important not to be too critical of students who get the pronouns wrong.

Any efforts made in the classroom may help transgender students feel safer in school. Teachers should never assume that just because none of their students “look” like they are transgender, that there aren’t actually students who are transgender or who are questioning their gender identity. It is essential for these students to have a supportive environment, even if it is just one staff member, where they can go for support and acceptance.

Transgender Students

Balancing Religious Beliefs of Teachers and Fellow Students

One of the biggest challenges that schools face in this climate is having to balance the rights of transgender students with the rights to religious freedom of other students and teachers. Even when schools want to support transgender students, it is not always an attainable goal as it opens them up to lawsuits from staff members and other students whose religious beliefs negate transgender rights.

This type of situation makes it very difficult for schools to do the right thing, something that would be respectable to both sides, and they often have to bend in the direction that legislation and legal precedence indicate. Schools that already have limited resources can most likely not risk expensive lawsuits as well.

The question becomes, whose rights are more important? Is it more important for people to feel comfortable expressing their religious views? Or is it more important for people to feel comfortable expressing their gender identity? You might feel strongly about one or the other, but it is a fundamental ethical conundrum for schools worldwide. Even in countries where equal rights trump individual preferences, it can be very tricky to figure out which side of a coin to support in such a debate. It is an ongoing struggle for many US school districts.

Things That Can Be Done to Protect Trans Students

Become familiar with Title IX guidelines. You can also familiarize yourself with other documents, and you can consult school district attorneys for further information.

You can also advocate for changes to legislation that serves to protect trans students.

Do a survey with your students to try and see where you might run into problems related to bias. Try to be prepared and try to keep communication open.

One good way to improve school climate and culture is to model desired behavior. Treat transgender children with respect and equality. Students should feel respected and supported, and staff and students should learn to respect transgender students’ rights. Some of these students do not have support at home, so having school environments that provide a safe space for them can be extremely valuable to their mental health.

Most school psychologists can help with these ventures as their governing bodies are advocates for transgender students’ rights and transgender rights overall. They can often also reach out to a national center or national association that has experience with transgender rights—for example, the National Association of School Psychologists.

Student clubs that support trans rights should also be supported and encouraged by school psychologists and the school principal.

Gender diversity should be encouraged, and discrimination should be handled accordingly. Federal law prohibits discrimination based on gender identity (Title IX).

Promote the protection of all students’ rights, including the rights of transgender students. This might be a difficult task, but as long as moderation and tolerance for all points of view are modeled, it should be attainable in most cases.

Promote accessibility. Assess the resources (such as locker rooms) that you have and how that might impact transgender individuals, and then try to minimize problematic situations.

Implement a mental health crisis protocol. Transgender students could potentially require such interventions should their journey to gender expression go wrong. It is then extremely valuable to have access to services at school. It could also be a valuable resource for students who are not necessarily transgender but just need some crisis intervention for their general mental health.

Implement mirrors and windows. This venture refers to creating positive examples and encouraging positive exchanges that students can be exposed to during the school year. It should preferably be representative of their age group as well as adults to create a long-term commitment.

Understand and teach etiquette. As mentioned earlier, many teachers are not sure what is acceptable behavior around trans students and what is not. If this is the case with teachers, then it is only safe to assume the same for students who have never met someone who is transgender. For most people, the concept of sex assigned at birth is a non-negotiable concept simply because of how they were raised. They have never met someone who understood things like perceived gender identity, let alone a trans student.

Spreading awareness and understanding can ease transitions related to locker room access. If students can truly understand that a transgender student is not a boy using girls locker rooms, then there is likely to be less backlash from the student population—the same for school sports teams.

Ideally, schools should be advocating for comprehensive federal prohibition of discrimination across the board as far as possible. We have a responsibility to the future of the country as a whole.

Challenges Faced By School Officials

The truth is that school leaders have the power to create a school community that offers students a safe space where they can come to feel safe and accepted; all it takes is a bit of work and support from the school board.

Schools play a significant role in shaping the lives of students, and many schools do not take this seriously anymore. Several students exprience bullying in schools on a daily basis, school staff are overworked, school facilities are neglected (because of underfunding), and students are left to their own devices, as many of them are at home.

That being said, school leaders cannot manage these ideals on their own. A school district is dependent on funding. They are also at the mercy of anti-transgender legislation and contradictions or grey areas when it comes to civil rights.

Organizations like the Human Rights Campaign can offer them some support, but at the same time, they need to go through institutions like the Department of Education’s office, which is an unfortunately lengthy and tedious process that takes up precious time in staff’s time.

These kinds of culture changes ideally need to be implemented at an elementary school level in children’s lives. Secondary school principals then have to take over, and finally, the buck is passed to high school leaders. It is unfair to expect these changes to start at high school level and still be successful. Gender identity issues need to be bought to people’s attention long before they reach high school age because this kind of social construct is formed early in life.

Furthermore, while there are supreme court rulings that support the civil rights of trans students, it is still difficult for schools to implement such rules, especially for allowing transgender students to use the locker room of the student’s preferred gender identity because the parents of other students tend not to understand gender identity. This sort of problem causes a lot of pressure on school staff.

Free Assistance
Pay Direct to the Hospital,
No Markups.

    (Email, WhatsApp, FB, IG, Mobile)

    Thank you!
    Your submission has been received!
    Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.

    RECENT Articles