对手术的免费支持。直接支付给医院。
健康与养生

MTF HRT前后的变性人健康状况

Louise D.

了解与跨性别患者激素替代疗法相关的身体和情绪变化

世界跨性别健康专业协会(WPATH)在《护理标准》(SOC)文件中提供了治疗性别障碍的基本准则。

对于一些跨性别患者来说,最终目标是整形手术。然而,这并不是所有与性别认同作斗争的人的目标。相反,大多数人似乎对性别肯定激素疗法感到满意。

无论最终目标如何,绝对必要的是了解可用的治疗方法以及何时开始这些治疗的理想时间 - 请记住,比平时晚开始女性化激素治疗仍然是一种选择,手术治疗也是如此。

我们希望通过本文实现的是对跨性别患者的女性化激素治疗可以明确预期的变化类型有更深入的了解。这可能适用于跨性别女性、性别膨胀或非二元性个体,他们试图将自己的身体女性化,而这些人在出生时就被分配为男性。

性别肯定激素疗法 - 快速概述

性别确认激素疗法是跨性别女性的常见治疗方法。激素治疗分为两类:完全可逆干预和部分可逆干预。

完全可逆的干预通常可以在青春期迹象出现后立即开始。然而,建议在青春期延迟激素治疗开始之前,青春期持续到 Tanner 阶段 2。延迟青春期的目的是双重的。首先,这将给青少年更多时间来决定他们是否想要接受性别肯定疗法,并在做出这一决定时阻止不可逆转的变化发生。

当然,这意味着在此期间只能进行延迟青春期的激素治疗,并且在此期间不应开始性别肯定激素治疗,因为其中一些只是部分可逆的。

WPATH SOC 明确指出,激素治疗需要针对每个病例进行个体化和调整,因为每个人的需求会有所不同。

预期变化

以下与女性化激素治疗相关的变化往往会在开始治疗后的两年内得到优化。

随着精子的产生,勃起功能和睾丸大小往往会下降。结果,有一定程度的乳房生长。由于这种乳房发育,医生通常建议在尝试进行性别确认手术之前进行至少一年的女性化激素治疗。因此,在结合隆胸手术最终可以预期的情况下观察乳房发育的全部程度是有益的。

此外,与肌肉质量相比,体脂百分比增加。因此,在女性化激素治疗过程中,身体脂肪和肌肉质量分布也会发生变化。

皮肤的软化以及面部和体毛生长的变化都会发生变化。男性型秃发也会停止(如果它已经开始)或将被阻止。

这些变化是由雌激素治疗和影响睾酮产生的抗雄激素的综合作用所决定的。所有这些变化结合起来往往会导致身体明显的女性化外观。

变化的发生和进展可能因人而异。因此,例如,如果患者服用较高水平的抗雄激素,则其时间线将与较低水平的抗雄激素不同。雌激素疗法也是如此。

青春期抑制

有男性生殖器的青少年服用促性腺激素释放激素抑制剂,通常还会服用孕激素或其他停止睾酮产生或中和睾酮的药物。在此期间,需要由儿科内分泌专家进行监测和定期血液检查,以控制适当的身高、骨密度等。这种治疗不会引起很多直接变化,但会阻止面部毛发生长或其他第二性征的发展.

通常,大多数跨性别者开始部分可逆的激素治疗的年龄在 16 岁左右。这是可以注意到更显着的外貌变化的地方,并且可以看到第二性特征与首选的性别认同特征一致。

虽然这不是必需的,但建议青少年在此期间去看心理健康专家,以帮助他们应对身体变化。虽然这些变化可能会受到欢迎,但这通常是一个艰难的时期,对于跨性别者来说可能更具挑战性。此外,女性化激素疗法也会导致令人困惑的情绪反应。

雌激素治疗

由于静脉血栓栓塞的风险增加,不再推荐使用乙炔雌二醇。经皮雌激素治疗被认为是更好的选择。

抗雄激素治疗

最好将抗雄激素治疗与雌激素治疗相结合,以尽量减少达到预期效果所需的雌激素量。

性别不合格者的 HRT

激素疗法不仅适用于想要从男性转变为女性的人。此外,对于那些性别不合格的人,还有一些选择。

对于任何激素疗法,临床医生都应该与他们的跨性别患者坐下来,确定他们的性别认同预期变化的程度,然后根据这些期望以及心理健康状况和医疗状况制定激素治疗计划。个人所面临的历史。此外,在某些情况下,由于心血管疾病、血栓等的风险增加,可能会限制激素治疗的使用。

停止激素治疗

没有多少情况会导致人们完全停止女性化激素治疗。虽然,在某些情况下它可能是必要的。

首先,个人可能想要停止他们的激素治疗。

这可能是由于许多原因。他们可能会与副作用作斗争,例如体重增加、抑郁症状、性欲下降和可能不需要的性功能下降。如果一个人相对年轻,他们可能会在使用青春期抑制激素一段时间后决定不接受女性化激素治疗。

人们可能会因激素水平改变而出现深静脉血栓形成或其他严重副作用的迹象。

一个人可能需要停止激素治疗的另一个原因是他们想要一个亲生孩子。对于尚未接受过臀部手术的跨性别者来说,这完全有可能。虽然此时跨性别女性无法怀孕,但她们可以产生精子,从而导致跨性别男性或顺性别女性怀孕。女性化激素治疗会干扰精子的产生,因此这可能是停止激素治疗一段时间的原因,直到可以在再次开始激素治疗之前确认怀孕。

在开始女性化激素治疗时,医生会讨论哪些身体变化是可逆的,哪些不可逆。需要提醒想要停止激素治疗的跨性别女性。可以给予支持以管理与不完全和不令人满意的性别转变相关的任何进一步的性别焦虑。

持续的性别不安

如果一个人继续经历高度和持续的性别焦虑,尽管女性化激素疗法带来了改变,但这种焦虑并没有减轻,临床医生可能会建议进一步干预。与单一临床医生相比,由跨学科团队管理性别焦虑并不少见。

性别焦虑症是相当严重的,人们期望通过女性化激素治疗会减轻一些焦虑,并且理解这只是一步,如果个人愿意,还需要进一步努力。

如果需要心理支持,临床医生应该愿意向患者建议这一点。最终目标是为患者提供最佳的身体和心理结果。

延长雌激素治疗

达到绝经年龄

许多跨性别者在刚开始雌激素治疗时可能不一定会考虑的一个因素是随着时间的推移治疗会是什么样子。在顺性别女性中,女性荷尔蒙会随着时间的推移而下降,随着性激素水平随着年龄的增长而下降,生殖系统自然会减慢。因此,跨性别女性的激素水平很可能会随着她们达到绝经年龄而得到适当调整。在那个年龄,他们自己体内的雄激素产生也可能会降低,如果不调整更高剂量的女性荷尔蒙,这可能会导致问题。它可能会进一步增加心血管疾病的风险。

此外,随着年龄的增长,性欲也会自然下降。尽管患乳腺癌的风险略有增加(无论性别如何,任何人都会受到影响,包括顺性别男性),但幸运的是,女性化激素疗法可以降低患前列腺癌的风险。

免费援助
直接支付给医院。
没有标记。

    (电子邮件, WhatsApp, FB, IG, 手机)
    谢谢你!
    您提交的材料已被收到!
    哎呀!提交表格时出了点问题。

    最近的文章

Free of Charge Support for Surgeries. Payments Made Directly to Hospital.
Health & Wellness

Transgender Health Before and After MTF HRT

Louise D.

Understanding Physical and Emotional Changes Related to Hormone Replacement Therapy for Transgender Patients

The World Professional Association for Transgender Health (WPATH) provides essential guidelines for the treatment of gender dysphoria in the Standards of Care (SOC) document.

For some transgender patients, the ultimate goal is plastic surgery. However, this is not the goal for all individuals struggling with gender identity. Instead, most seem to be content with gender affirming hormone therapy.

Regardless of the ultimate goal, what is absolutely essential is to understand what treatments are available and when are ideal times to begin these treatments—bearing in mind that starting feminizing hormone therapy later than usual is still an option, the same for surgical treatments.

What we hope to achieve with this article is a deeper understanding of the types of changes that can be explicitly expected in relation to feminizing hormone therapy for transgender patients. This can be either for transgender women, gender expansive, or non-binary individuals who seek to feminize their bodies that were assigned male at birth.

Transgender Health

Gender Affirming Hormone Therapy – A Quick Overview

Gender affirming hormone regimens are common treatments for transgender women. Hormone therapy is divided into two categories: fully reversible interventions and partially reversible interventions.

Fully reversible interventions can generally start as soon as signs of puberty appear. It is, however, advised that puberty persists to Tanner Stage 2 before puberty delaying hormone therapy is started. The purpose for delaying puberty would be twofold. First, it would give adolescents more time to decide whether they want to undergo gender affirmation therapies and stop irreversible changes from occurring while this decision is being made.

This, of course, means that only puberty delaying hormone therapy can take place during this time, and no gender affirming hormone therapy should begin during this time as some of it is only partially reversible.

The WPATH SOC indicates explicitly that hormone therapy needs to be individualized and adapted for each case, as the needs for each person will vary.

Expected Changes

The following changes associated with feminizing hormone therapy tend to optimize within two years of commencing treatment.

Erectile function and testicular size tend to decrease, along with sperm production. As a result, there is some degree of breast growth. Due to this breast development, it is common for doctors to suggest a minimum of one year on feminizing hormone therapy before attempts are made at gender affirming surgery. Therefore, it is beneficial to observe the full extent of breast development in the context of what can ultimately be expected in conjunction with breast augmentation surgery.

Furthermore, there is an increased body fat percentage compared to muscle mass. Therefore, body fat and muscle mass distributions will also change during the course of feminizing hormone therapy.

Softening of the skin as well as changes in facial and body hair growth will change. Male pattern baldness also stops (if it has already started) or will be prevented.

These changes are bought on by a combination of effects from the estrogen hormone therapy as well as anti-androgens that affect testosterone production. All of these changes combined tend to result in a noticeable feminizing appearance of the body.

The onset and progression of changes might vary from one individual to the next. So, for example, if the patient is on higher levels of anti-androgens it will have a different timeline than lower levels of anti-androgens. And the same would be true for estrogen therapy.

Puberty Suppression

Adolescents with male genitalia are given gonadotropin-releasing hormone suppressants, and usually also progestins or other medications that stop testosterone production or neutralize testosterone. Monitoring and regular blood tests by a pediatric endocrinologist are necessary during this time to manage appropriate height, bone density, etc. This sort of treatment does not cause many direct changes but will stop things like facial hair growth or the development of other secondary sex characteristics.

Commonly, the age by which most transgender individuals begin partially reversible hormone therapy is around the age of 16 years. This is where more notable changes to physical appearance can be noted, and secondary sex characteristics can be seen to present in accordance with the preferred gender identity characteristics.

Although it is not a requirement, it is advised that adolescents see a mental health professional during this time to help them cope with physical changes. While the changes might be welcome, this is usually a difficult time and can be extra challenging for a transgender individual. In addition, feminizing hormone therapy can also lead to confusing emotional reactions.

Estrogen Hormone Therapy

The use of Ethinyl Estradiol is not recommended anymore due to the increased risk of venous thromboembolism. It is believed that transdermal estrogen hormone therapy is a better option.

Anti Androgen Therapy

It is decidedly best to combine anti-androgen therapy with estrogen hormone therapy in order to minimize the amount of estrogen needed for desired results.

HRT for Gender Nonconforming People

Hormone therapy is not only reserved for someone wanting to transition from male to female. In addition, there are options available for those who are gender nonconforming.

With any hormone therapy, clinicians are expected to sit down with their transgender patient and establish the extent of changes that are expected for their gender identity and then come up with a plan for hormone therapy based on these expectations along with the mental health conditions and medical history that the individual faces. In addition, there are some cases where there might be restrictions on what hormone therapy can be administered due to increased risks of cardiovascular disease, blood clots, etc.

Stopping Hormone Therapy

There are not many situations that would result in someone being expected to stop their feminizing hormone therapy entirely. Although, there are some instances where it might be necessary.

Firstly, the individual might want to stop their hormone therapy.

This can be due to numerous reasons. They could struggle with side effects, such as weight gain, depressive symptoms, decreased sexual desire, and decreased sexual function that might be unwanted. If an individual is relatively young, they might decide not to go through with the feminizing hormone therapy after spending some time on puberty suppression hormones.

People might develop concerning signs of deep vein thrombosis or other serious side effects from altered hormone levels.

Another reason an individual might need to stop hormone therapy is that they want to have a biological child. This is entirely possible for transgender people who have not undergone bottom surgeries yet. While trans women at this point in time are not able to fall pregnant, they can produce sperm that can result in pregnancies of either transgender men or cisgender women. Feminizing hormone therapy interferes with sperm production, so this might be a reason to stop hormone treatment for a while until a pregnancy can be confirmed before starting hormone therapy up again.

When starting feminizing hormone therapy, the doctors would have discussed which physical changes are reversible and which are not. Transgender women who want to stop hormone therapy will need to be reminded of this. Support can be given to manage any further gender dysphoria associated with incomplete and unsatisfactory gender transition.

Persistent Gender Dysphoria

Should an individual continue to experience high and persistent levels of gender dysphoria that do not diminish despite changes bought on by feminizing hormone therapy, a clinician might suggest further intervention. It is not uncommon for gender dysphoria to be managed by an interdisciplinary team as opposed to a single clinician.

Gender dysphoria is quite serious, and there is an expectation that some anxiety will be diminished through feminizing hormone therapy and the understanding that this is only one step and that further efforts are still to come should the individual wish to take them.

If there is a need for psychological support, the clinician should be comfortable suggesting this to a patient. The ultimate goal would be the best possible physical and psychological outcome for the patient.

Prolonged Estrogen Hormone Therapy

Reaching a menopausal age

A factor that many transgender individuals might not necessarily consider when they are only beginning estrogen hormone therapy is what the treatment will look like over time. In cisgender women, female hormones decline over time, and the reproductive system naturally slows as the levels of sex hormones decrease with age. Therefore, it is likely that hormone levels in transgender women will be suitably adjusted as they reach menopausal ages. Androgen production in their own bodies will likely lower at that age as well, which might cause problems if higher doses of female hormones are not adjusted. It could further increase the risks of cardiovascular disease.

Furthermore, a naturally decreased libido can also be expected as age progresses. And while there is a slightly increased risk of breast cancer (which can affect anyone regardless of assigned gender, including cisgender men), luckily, however, feminizing hormone therapy lowers the risk of prostate cancer.

Free Assistance
Pay Direct to the Hospital,
No Markups.

    (Email, WhatsApp, FB, IG, Mobile)

    Thank you!
    Your submission has been received!
    Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.

    RECENT Articles