Soutien gratuit pour les opérations chirurgicales. Paiements effectués directement à l'hôpital.
Identité de genre

Que signifie non binaire ?

Palesa N.

Le genre et le sexe sont souvent confondus dans le même concept. Distinguer la différence critique entre les deux peut faire beaucoup pour aider à comprendre ce que signifie s'identifier comme non binaire.

Les concepts clés suivants doivent être pris en compte lors de la navigation dans un contenu, un discours ou des sentiments non binaires.

Sexe attribué à la naissance :

When a child is born, the doctor in charge will assign sex to the said infant based on their sexual organs. This tends to follow the title ‘male’ or  ‘female,’ but some may be labeled as intersex (depending on chromosomal features, etc.).

Les nourrissons qui ne sont pas nés intersexués sont donc mâle assigné à la naissance (AMAB) ou femelle assignée à la naissance (AFAB). Cela met l'accent sur le rôle que jouent les médecins dans l'attribution du sexe à la naissance.

Identité de genre:

L'identité de genre d'une personne n'est pas le même sexe attribué à la naissance. Le genre est beaucoup plus personnel et tourné vers l'intérieur que beaucoup ne le pensent, l'expérience de l'identité de genre est vaste et fluide, pour beaucoup, s'y attaquer est un voyage de toute une vie. Les identités de genre ne se limitent pas à l'homme et à la femme, contrairement aux idées hégémoniques - elles s'étendent aux identités non binaires, agender, gender-queer et à une variété d'autres identités de genre avec lesquelles on peut résonner.

Cisgenre (Cis)

C'est lorsqu'une personne s'identifie au sexe qui lui a été attribué à la naissance, c'est-à-dire qu'une personne attribuée à un homme à la naissance qui s'identifie comme un homme est cisgenre.

Transgenre (Trans)

Une personne trans ne s'identifie pas au sexe qui lui a été assigné à la naissance ou à son sexe biologique, une personne trans n'est pas cis. C'est quelque chose qui a pris de l'ampleur ces dernières années alors que de plus en plus de personnes s'attaquent à la nature construite du genre.

Genre Binaire

La nature construite du genre est telle qu'il a été enseigné qu'il n'y a que deux genres et leur performance de genre. Les gens dans le monde ont été divisés entre l'un ou l'autre, où un spectre de genre est déviant du système. C'est ce système qui attribue des rôles de genre aux « hommes et aux femmes », où l'identité de genre spécifique d'une personne est indicative de la façon dont elle est censée se comporter dans le monde. Le concept d'être fluide entre les genres dans ce système menace donc les tenants clés de ces binaires de genre.

Non binaire

Non binaire

To be non-binary is to identify with a gender identity that challenges the notion of there existing only two distinct gender identities.  Non-binary gender identity does not lean exclusively toward one gender identity or another, instead, it is gender non-conforming.

Binaries are everywhere, the system that gender exists to divide groups into two and feed into patriarchal norms.  All through history, non-binary gender identities have existed.

Pronom personnel

L'utilisation de pronoms tels qu'il / elle parle de la notion qu'il n'y a que deux genres - homme et femme. Quand quelqu'un est non binaire, cette idée disparaît et la fluidité du genre se traduit dans les pronoms que l'on utilise - souvent ils/elles, ceux-ci sont connus comme des pronoms neutres. Il est important de demander aux étrangers quels sont leurs pronoms personnels.

Le spectre le long duquel l'identité de genre existe signifie que l'expression de genre peut prendre plusieurs formes. On peut présenter ou exprimer sa fluidité de genre de manière perçue comme masculine, féminine, neutre ou tout à la fois.

Transgender Person

Traitements et chirurgies d'affirmation de genre

Il est important de rappeler qu'être neutre en matière de genre, c'est s'identifier à une construction du genre qui oscille entre un binaire, c'est-à-dire neutre entre masculin et féminin. Ceci, cependant, a plus à voir avec la perception que la société a d'une personne plutôt qu'avec son identité de genre. L'identité de genre d'une personne est beaucoup plus intérieure et introspective que son expression.

Pour beaucoup, les traitements et les chirurgies affirmant le genre ont tendance à établir une apparence non sexiste, dans le but de permettre une flexibilité dans l'expression du genre et de réduire les cas de dysphorie de genre.

Identité de genre vs expression de genre

L'identité de genre et l'expression de genre sont souvent considérées comme une seule et même chose, cependant, les deux présentent des différences essentielles qu'il est important de prendre en compte, en particulier lors de l'exploration des identités non binaires et des marqueurs de genre perçus.

Identité de genre

L'identité de genre fait référence à la compréhension qu'on a de son genre. Leur identité de genre n'est pas toujours liée à leur expression de genre.

Expression de genre

L'expression de genre a beaucoup plus à voir avec les formes externes d'expression de soi. Les personnes non binaires ont tendance à exprimer leur genre de manière tout aussi fluide. La façon dont on se présente n'est donc pas un marqueur de son identité de genre. Quelqu'un dont l'identité de genre n'est pas binaire peut se présenter d'une manière perçue par la société comme féminine par exemple - c'est son expression. Ce n'est pas linéaire, constant ou rigide, en effet c'est non binaire.

Gender Fluidity As Seen In The Spectrum Of The Pride Flag
Soutenir les personnes non binaires
Vous n'avez pas besoin d'être un expert en identité non binaire pour les personnes non binaires.  

Les gens utilisent souvent le manque d'exposition comme excuse pour manquer de respect envers des identités de genre spécifiques, c'est souvent le cas lorsqu'on s'engage avec un transphobe par exemple, qui utilise "grandir dans une petite ville" comme moyen d'expliquer son manque de respect envers personnes transgenres.

Référez-vous à une personne par le nom avec lequel elle se sent à l'aise.

Cela peut sembler évident, mais le plus souvent, les gens ne reconnaissent pas l'importance d'un changement de nom. Une personne non binaire peut souhaiter être adressée par un nom non sexiste, c'est quelque chose que vous devez toujours respecter.

Evitez l'Assomption.

Indépendamment de ce que vous pensez, il est impossible d'identifier une personne non binaire à partir de son apparence. C'est pourquoi il est important de demander à toutes les personnes quels sont leurs pronoms personnels lorsqu'elles les rencontrent pour la première fois.

Assistance gratuite
Payez directement à l'hôpital,
Pas de majoration.

    (Email, WhatsApp, FB, IG, Mobile)
    Merci !
    Votre soumission a été reçue !
    Oups ! Un problème est survenu lors de la soumission du formulaire.

    Articles RECENTS

Free of Charge Support for Surgeries. Payments Made Directly to Hospital.
Gender Identity

What Does Non-Binary Mean?

Palesa N.

Gender and sex are often conflated into the same concept. Distinguishing the critical difference between the two can do a great deal in the way of helping one understand what it means to identify as non-binary.

The following are key concepts to think of when navigating non-binary content, discourse or feelings.

Sex Assigned At Birth:

When a child is born, the doctor in charge will assign sex to the said infant based on their sexual organs. This tends to follow the title ‘male’ or  ‘female,’ but some may be labeled as intersex (depending on chromosomal features, etc.).

Infants that are not born intersex are therefore assigned male at birth (AMAB) or assigned female at birth (AFAB). This puts emphasis on the role that doctors play in the assignment of sex upon birth.

Gender Identity:

A person’s gender identity is not the same sex assigned at birth. Gender is far more personal and inward-looking than many may assume, the experience of gender identity is vast and fluid, to many, grappling with this is a life-long journey. Gender identities are not limited to man and woman, contrary to hegemonic ideas -they extend to non-binary, agender, gender-queer and a variety of other gender identities that one may resonate with.

Cisgender (Cis)

This is when a person identifies with the sex assigned to them at birth, i.e. someone assigned male at birth who identifies as a man is cisgender.

Transgender (Trans)

Someone who is trans does not identify with the sex assigned to them at birth or their biological sex, a trans person is not cis. This is something that has grown in awareness in recent years as more and more come to grips with the constructed nature of gender.

Gender Binary

The constructed nature of gender is such that it has been taught that there are only two genders and gender performance thereof. People in the world have been divided into either one or the other, where a gender spectrum is deviant to the system. It is this system that assigns gender roles to ‘men and women’, where someone’s specific gender identity is indicative of how they are expected to behave in the world. The concept of being gender fluid in this system, therefore, threatens key tenants of these gender binaries.

Non-Binary

Non-Binary

To be non-binary is to identify with a gender identity that challenges the notion of there existing only two distinct gender identities.  Non-binary gender identity does not lean exclusively toward one gender identity or another, instead, it is gender non-conforming.

Binaries are everywhere, the system that gender exists to divide groups into two and feed into patriarchal norms.  All through history, non-binary gender identities have existed.

Personal Pronouns

The use of pronouns such as he/she speaks to the notion of there only being two genders -man and woman. When someone is non-binary, this idea falls away and the fluidity of gender translates in the pronouns one goes by -often they/them, these are known as gender-neutral pronouns. It is important to ask strangers what their personal pronouns are.

The spectrum along which gender identity exists means that gender expression can take multiple forms. One can present or express their gender fluidity in ways that are perceived as masculine, feminine, neutral or everything at once.

Transgender Person

Gender Affirming Treatments and Surgeries

It is important to remember that to be gender-neutral is to identify with a construct of gender that bounces between a binary i.e. neutral between male and female. This, however, has more to do with society’s perception of one rather than their gender identity. Someone’s gender identity is far more inward and introspective than their expression of it.

For many, gender-affirming treatments and surgeries tend to establish a gender-neutral appearance, with the intention of allowing flexibility in gender expression and reducing instances of gender dysphoria.

Gender identity vs Gender Expression

Gender identity and gender expression are often considered one and the same, however, the two have critical differences that are important to take into account, especially when exploring non-binary identities and perceived gender markers.

Gender Identity

Gender identity refers to one’s understanding of their gender. Their gender identity is not always linked to their gender expression.

Gender expression

Gender expression has far more to do with external forms of self-expression. Non-binary people tend to express their gender in equally fluid ways. How one presents therefore is not a marker of their gender identity. Someone whose gender identity is non-binary can present in ways perceived by society as feminine for instance -that is their expression. This is not linear, constant or rigid, indeed it is non-binary.

Gender Fluidity As Seen In The Spectrum Of The Pride Flag
Supporting Non-Binary People
You don’t need to be an expert on non-binary identity to non-binary people.  

People often use a lack of exposure as an excuse to be disrespectful toward specific gender identities, this is often the case when one engages with a transphobe for instance, who uses “growing up in a small town” as a means to explain their disrespect toward transgender people.

Refer to a person by the name they are comfortable with.

This may seem obvious, but more often than not, people do not recognize the significance of a name change. A non-binary person may wish to be addressed by a gender-neutral name, this is something you should always respect.

Avoid Assumption.

Regardless of what you may think -it is impossible to identify a non-binary person from the way they look. This is why it is important to ask all people what their personal pronouns are when meeting them for the first time.

Free Assistance
Pay Direct to the Hospital,
No Markups.

    (Email, WhatsApp, FB, IG, Mobile)
    Thank you!
    Your submission has been received!
    Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.

    RECENT Articles