免费为手术提供支持。直接向医院付款。

Voice Feminization Surgery: Vocal Feminization Training in Thailand

Vocal Feminization Procedures, Before and After, Benefits and Post-Op Care

开放女性化喉成形术、环甲近似 (CTA)、IV 型甲状腺成形术

为了创建一个人的声音,声带充当声音发生器。声音的音调依赖于声带振动。嘴、鼻子、喉咙甚至鼻窦的形状和大小也有助于声音的发出方式。

男性的声音往往较低,而女性的声音通常较高。通过声音女性化程序,跨性别患者寻求将男性声音的共振频率增加到女性声音。

但仅靠这个程序还不足以使声音完全改变。完成后,患者需要与在变性手术方面经验丰富的言语治疗师合作,以确保成功的声音效果和舒适的说话。手术后接受治疗将帮助患者学习正确使用他们新的音调。

有两种手术方法可以提高一个人的音调。一种这样的手术是前声门网形成。这个过程会在声带的前面形成一个疤痕带网,将其缩短以提高音调。另一种提高音调的方法是通过手术缩短声带和配置声道。

要记住的一件事是,音高只是构成女性声音的一个组成部分。请放心,这种外科手术可以帮助患者获得他们想要的声音。

手术前

在进行声音女性化手术之前,患者必须记住一些重要步骤。首先,他们必须在第一次看医生之前至少两周戒烟。在大多数情况下,还会建议患者在手术过程中多喝水,以保持良好的声音卫生。良好的声音卫生对确保手术成功大有帮助。

然后患者必须对他们的声音进行非常仔细的声学研究(声音分析)。这样做是为了能够充分了解俯仰抬高手术的潜在结果。这项研究被称为视频喉镜检查。

视频喉镜检查持续一个小时,包括咨询和适当的程序。完成后,患者可以讨论潜在结果,提出任何风险因素,并提出所有问题,例如他们何时可以听到自己的最终声音。

在初步检查和讨论之后,要求患者在手术前每周至少 2-3 次与语言治疗师一起工作一小时,以帮助重新训练他们的声音并为手术做好准备。如果患者之前已经使用不同的技术进行过语音改变手术,手术团队可能需要进一步评估病例以确保成功。

声乐女性化手术技术

During the voice feminization procedure or pitch raising surgery, the surgeon moves thyroid cartilage near the patient's cricoid using absorbable stitches. A 2 cm transverse incision is used, usually done in a skin crease to minimize scar visibility, at the level of the vertical midpoint of the thyroid cartilage.

患者的声带不会直接接触或操纵以防止损伤。音高的变化是因为声带在手术过程中被动地拉伸。伸展通过手术刺激肌质甲状腺肌肉收缩与缝合线导致声乐音高上升。

这种模拟有助于增加声带附件之间的空间,从而导致声带张力增加。甲状腺和环状软骨尽可能彼此靠近,以在肿胀减少时减轻术后恢复到较低音高的可能性。

声音女性化程序在全身麻醉下进行大约 40-50 分钟。对于希望同时进行女性化手术的患者,它通常与亚当氏苹果/气管剃须同时进行。

如果患者只是做语音女性化手术,则之后的疼痛通常最小。任何疼痛都可以用止痛药来控制。然而,如果同时进行这两个手术,气管剃须程序可能会导致一些术后疼痛。

程序的优缺点

声音女性化手术的优点包括:
  • 没有直接操纵患者的声带,可能导致语音损伤和永久嘶哑。
  • 它是可逆的。
  • 此过程可以与气管剃须同时进行。
缺点包括:
  • 手术需要一个小的颈部切口,可能会留下疤痕。这因患者而异;
  • 由于它仍然相对较新,因此无法获得该程序的长期成功和结果。

声音女性化手术有哪些风险?

Risks of getting vocal surgery include:
  • 发音困难,例如声音中断和震颤
  • 声带水肿或积液
  • 扩大亚当的苹果
  • 嘶哑
  • 即使在声音女性化手术和治疗之后,音调仍然很低
  • 语音盒内或喉咙外侧的疤痕
  • 声音听起来不自然地高
  • 声带功能障碍
  • 声带损伤
  • 声带麻痹

术后注意事项

要遵循的术后提醒包括:
  • 第1-7天 - 患者必须保持绝对的沉默。患者不会有食物和饮料的限制,虽然为了防止酸倒流,建议避免咖啡因,巧克力,脂肪食品,苏打水,薄荷和酒精。
  • 第3-7天 - 患者应用水润滑声带,同时使用盐水溶液进行星云。
  • Day 8-10 – After the patient's allocated rest time, a new videolaryngostroboscopy will be conducted. Outer stitches will be removed and wound dressing will be replaced. This is also when speech rehabilitation with speech-language pathologists or voice feminization therapy may begin. This helps patients learn the eye contact and timing needed to support the female voice. Undergoing voice and communication therapy can also help patients get used to their new pitch range and transgender voice as well as learn the vocal characteristics that the female voice has.
注意:如果患者可以在工作时遵守语音限制,通常只需要一周的休息时间。如果在工作中需要患者的声音,则至少需要两周时间才能确保正常愈合。

女性对男性 (FTM) 语音手术/人声男性化

Transgender voice surgery can be done for transgender men seeking to lower their vocal pitch to make it more masculine. This is usually considered if patients are dissatisfied with the changes to their voice using just male hormone therapy.

术前过程类似。患者需要接受视频喉镜检查,才能规划出如何通过手术和语音治疗来最好地实现他们的目标。

为了帮助患者获得更深沉的低音,通过在声带内注射生物相容性材料来增加声带的质量。这种质量的增加有助于降低基本语音频率。

通常,注射一次生物相容性材料(自体脂肪或羟基磷灰石,具体取决于具体情况)足以达到所需的较低音高。然而,每个患者都是独一无二的,这可能会有所不同。手术不是永久性的,可能需要在几年后重复。

FTM 手术是在全身麻醉下完成的。它持续大约20-30分钟。患者不会经历术后疼痛,手术后也没有食物限制。

手术后,患者必须保持沉默2天。然后将进行第二次视频拉林哥斯特罗斯科检查,以评估结果。完成后,患者进行言语治疗。

言语治疗

一旦声音女性化或男性化程序完成,就需要进行言语治疗以确保最佳的长期效果。使音调更接近患者的性别认同是有益的,但如果没有适当的言语治疗,患者可能无法完全理解如何使用他们的新声音。

言语治疗帮助患者用他们全新的、真实的声音自然地交流。治疗师通过包括姿势调整、面部表情甚至呼吸练习在内的练习,帮助患者学习平衡控制频率、音调、语调和共振的正确方法。锻炼通常每天只需 10 分钟即可完成。

Through these guided exercises and evaluations, patients learn to better understand their new vocal tone, how their voice works, and how they can better utilize their new pitch. Additionally, therapy could also help patients learn nonverbal communication patterns.

泰国的语音培训项目

我们有经过全面培训的言语治疗师,随时可以与Transgender Thailand患者合作。每个患者的声音和言语模式将在他们的声音女性化或男性化手术前一周进行评估。在这些手术前疗程中,治疗师将帮助患者与外科医生一起规划出一条前进的道路。

手术后,患者再次与言语治疗师会面,以评估新的声带功能和言语。患者应在术后至少 2-4 周内接受言语治疗。患者通常还会在治疗的同时进行日常锻炼,让他们自己做。

每月将安排在线跟进,以确保稳步推进。

免费协助
直接支付给医院,
无标记。
(电子邮件、WhatsApp、FB、IG、手机)
谢谢!
您的提交已收到!
糟糕!提交表单时出了点问题。
声音女性化手术后会发生什么?
语言病理学家将解决什么问题?
什么是医疗旅游?
Transgender Thailand接受医疗游客吗?
声音女性化手术可以帮助跨性别女性吗?

Find out how you can easily travel to Thailand for surgery during the pandemic

Vocal Feminization Surgery

Male to Female - Thailand Cosmetic & Plastic Surgery

Open Feminization Laryngoplasty, Cricothyroid Approximation (CTA), Thyroplasty type IV

To create a person's voice, the vocal cords act as a sound generator. The pitch of the voice relies on vocal cord vibrations. The shape and size of the mouth, nose, throat, and even sinuses also contribute to the way the voice sounds. 

Men tend to have lower voices while female voices are usually higher. Through the voice feminization procedure, transgender patients seek to increase the resonant frequency of a male voice to a more female one.

But the procedure alone is not enough to make a full vocal change. Once completed, patients need to work with a speech therapist experienced in transgender procedures to ensure a successful vocal outcome and comfort in speaking. Going through therapy after the procedure will help patients learn to properly use their new vocal pitch.

Before the Operation

There are some important steps a patient must remember before undergoing voice feminization surgery. First, they must stop smoking a minimum of two weeks before the first doctor's consultation. 

Then the patient must undergo a very careful acoustic study of their voice. This is done to be able to fully understand the potential results of the surgery. The study is called a videolaryngostroboscopy. 

The videolaryngostroboscopy lasts for an hour including consultation and the procedure proper. When it is completed, patients can discuss potential results, bring up any risk factors, and ask all their questions.

After the initial exam and discussion, patients are asked to work with a speech therapist for one-hour sessions at least 2-3 times a week before the surgery to help retrain their voice and prepare for the operation.If the patient has already had a prior voice change surgery using a different technique, the surgical team may need to assess the case further to ensure success.

Vocal Feminization Surgical Technique

During the voice feminization procedure, the surgeon moves thyroid cartilage near the patient’s cricoid using absorbable stitches. A 2 cm transverse incision is used, usually done in a skin crease to minimize scar visibility, at the level of the vertical midpoint of the thyroid cartilage.

A patient’s vocal cords aren’t directly touched or manipulated to prevent damage. The change in pitch occurs because the vocal cords are passively stretched through the surgery. The stretching causes the rise in vocal pitch through surgically stimulating cricothyroid muscle contraction with sutures.

This simulation helps increase the space between vocal fold attachments which causes the vocal fold tension to increase. Thyroid and cricoid cartilage are brought as close to each other as possible to mitigate potential post-surgery reversion to a lower pitch when the swelling decreases.

The voice feminization procedure is done under general anesthesia for approximately 40-50 minutes. It is often done in tandem with Adam's apple/tracheal shaving in patients wishing to do both feminization procedures.

If a patient is just doing the voice feminization surgery, there is generally minimal pain afterwards. Any pain can be managed with painkillers. However, if doing both procedures, the tracheal shave procedure may cause some post-operative pain. 

Advantages and Disadvantages of Procedure

The advantages of voice feminization surgery include:
  • No direct manipulation of the patient’s vocal cords that might lead to voice damage and permanent hoarseness.
  • It is reversible.
  • This procedure can be done in tandem with tracheal shaving.
The disadvantages include:
  • surgery will require a small neck incision which may scar. This varies per patient;
  • long-term success and results of this procedure are not available as it is still relatively new.

Post-Operative Notes

Post-surgery reminders to follow include:
  • Day 1-7 – Patients must stay in absolute silence. Patients won't have food and beverage restrictions although to prevent acid reflux it is recommended to avoid caffeine, chocolate, fatty food, soda, peppermint, and alcohol.
  • Day 3-7 – Patients should lubricate vocal cords with water and simultaneously nebulize using a saline solution.
  • Day 8-10 – After the patient’s allocated rest time, a new videolaryngostroboscopy will be conducted. Outer stitches will be removed and wound dressing will be replaced. This is also when speech rehabilitation may begin.
Note: Usually only a week off work is required if the patient can follow voice restrictions while at work. If the patient's voice is needed at work, a minimum of two weeks is required to ensure proper healing.

Female-to-Male (FTM) Voice Surgery/Vocal Masculinization

The procedure can be done for transgender men seeking to lower their vocal pitch to make it more masculine. This is usually considered if patients are dissatisfied with the changes to their voice using just male hormone therapy.

The preoperative process is similar. Patients need to undergo a videolaryngostroboscopy to be able to plot out how best to meet their goals through surgery and voice therapy.

To help patients get a deeper lower voice, the mass of the vocal cords is increased by using an intra-cords injection of biocompatible materials. This increase in mass helps lower the fundamental voice frequency.

Usually, one injection of biocompatible material (autologous fat or hydroxyl apatite depending on each individual case) is enough to reach desired lower pitch. However, each patient is unique and this could differ. The operation is not permanent and may need to be repeated after several years.

The FTM operation is done with general anesthesia. It lasts for approximately 20-30 minutes. Patients do not experience postoperative pain and have no food restrictions after surgery.

After the operation, patients must remain silent for 2 days. Then  a second videolaryngostroboscopy will be conducted to evaluate the results. When this is completed, patients then proceed with speech therapy.

Speech Therapy

Once the voice feminization or masculinization procedure is complete, speech therapy is required to ensure optimal long-term results. Having a pitch closer to a patient's gender identity is empowering but, without proper speech therapy, patients may not fully understand how to use their new voice.

Speech therapy helps patients communicate naturally with their new and authentic voices. Therapists help patients learn proper ways to balance control frequency, tone, intonation, and resonance through exercises that include posture adjustments, facial expressions, and even breathing exercises. Exercises can usually be done in just 10 minutes per day.

Through these guided exercises and evaluations, patients learn to better understand their new vocal tone, how their voice works, and how they can better utilize their new pitch.

Voice Training Programs in Thailand

We have fully-trained speech therapists ready to work with Transgender Thailand patients. Each patient's voice and speech patterns will be assessed one week before their voice feminization or masculinization surgery. In these pre-operation sessions, therapists will help patients plot out a path forward with their surgeons.

After the procedure, patients again meet speech therapists to assess new vocal cord functions and speech. Patients should attend speech therapy for at least 2-4 weeks post-surgery. Patients are also usually given daily exercises to do on their own in tandem with the therapy.

Monthly follow-ups will be arranged online to ensure steady progress.

Request Consultation
We're here to help and provide info
(Email, WhatsApp, FB, IG, Mobile)
Thank you!
Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.