对手术的免费支持。直接支付给医院。
健康与养生

变性人的自我接受

Louise D.

跨性别者有什么不同吗?

不完全不同。您需要接受的关于自己的事情可能与顺性别者略有不同,但过程和结果往往大体相似。

自我接纳是幸福的基石,不仅对跨性别者,对任何人都是如此。然而,当专门研究跨性别社区的自我接纳时,一个很好的起点是确定你是否仍在质疑你的性别认同,或者你是否已经接受了你独特的性别认同。

旅程

接受自己并不总是那么容易,而且往往是一个独立的旅程。当你处理低自信水平时,当你的身体感觉不对劲,当你的未来不明朗等等时,不得不拥抱自己的想法可能会让人望而生畏。但不要绝望;应对这一旅程的最佳方式是一步一步。最终,没有错误的方法可以做到这一点,但是将事情分解成更小的步骤,一次花一点时间可能是有用的第一步。

一口大小的块

试图一次解决所有问题太过分了,即使对于非跨性别或非二元性别的人来说也是如此。意识到顺性别者也经常为他们如何看待自己而挣扎,并且在顺性别者的生活中常常有一些他们难以接受的事情,这可能会有所帮助。它可能会帮助您了解接受自己的真实身份的旅程是很正常的,并且有很多人以同样的方式挣扎。

特定于跨社区

在探索作为跨性别者的自我提升和自我接纳时,您可能会受益于熟悉其他跨性别者的故事并熟悉与身份和取向相关的术语。了解未来可能会发生什么,或者能够理解你过去的感受会很有帮助。

心理保健提供者和自尊

与自我接纳和自尊的斗争可能很难靠自己来应对,寻求专业指导可能是个好主意。心理学家受过专门培训,可以帮助人们练习自我同情、自我宽恕,并克服过去的任何创伤经历。

此外,除了照顾您的心理健康外,心理学家还可以帮助您确定您是否是跨性别者,以及您是否想要过渡,或者您想以何种方式过渡。有些人对过渡的工作原理以及可用的选项有深入的了解。

此外,特别是如果您还未成年,心理学家可以帮助您与父母交谈,无论是在共享会议期间还是准备自己与他们交谈。

无条件自我接纳的概念

当你分解它时,你可能会发现所有的自我接纳都是无条件的,但最近,治疗师一直在使用“无条件的自我接纳”这个词来强调它首先是无条件的重要性。

无条件自我接纳的基本基础是不要陷入过去,还要明白你与你的个人品质和行为是分开的。这意味着您了解自己的消极和积极方面,但您不会根据这些方面来判断自己。

自我接纳的重要第一步之一就是不要将自己视为受害者。如果你认为自己是受害者,你的负面情绪将继续超过你在真正的自我接纳和自我宽恕方面的进步。这也是一种让你失去力量的立场。

意识到自己需要帮助,然后寻求帮助并在提供帮助时接受,这是你生命中至关重要的自我赋权步骤。请记住,治疗是为了您的利益,将事情从胸中释放出来并有一个安全的空间来解决困难的事情是非常自由的。

治疗师和患者之间的关系是高度保密的,治疗中讨论的内容不会泄露给他人。这意味着,治疗课程可以成为您在生活中被波涛汹涌的时期所困扰的坚实基础。

自我批评与消极的自我对话

您仍然是自己最糟糕的批评者,这就是自言自语的来源。这两个概念之间的区别充其量是模糊的,但它们却截然不同。自言自语来自对“自我”的批评(一个治疗术语,指的是你如何看待自己)。

最好这样理解:批评为自我对话铺平了道路。如果您对自己感到挑剔,那么您的自言自语就会反映出这一点。如果你对自己的批评是积极的或建设性的,那么你的自我对话将更加注重全球肯定。

自言自语是一种活跃的修辞,在您的脑海中运行并指向内心。它是抑郁症的主要组成部分之一,但也可以通过治疗和行为技术来解决。这种消极的自我对话的例子包括:

“我没用”,“我什么都做不好”,“我是个失败者”。

用来对抗这种情况的最常见的治疗技术是将那些不好的事情转变为可以产生积极结果的第一步。例如:

“下次我会做得更好”、“这次我没做好,但我会练习并稍后再试”、“我最近一直在努力,需要努力改进它”。

这尤其有助于那些仍然难以接受自己并经历很多自我怀疑的人。这不是一个完全积极的陈述,但它的消极性也不是“终结”;有进步的空间,有走向接纳自我的空间。

任何此类更改都需要时间,不能操之过急。它是最基本的自我接纳练习,被广泛用于通过自我同情的练习来改善低自我接纳程度。它通常与日记相结合,进一步帮助人们理清自己的感受并将其表达出来。此外,日记将帮助您活在当下,并理清您现在需要关注的地方。

自尊支持系统的好处

如果您从周围的每个人那里收到的意见始终是负面的,那么练习自我同情和自我接纳就极具挑战性。此外,你已经在尝试处理你内心的批评者,因此不得不处理来自外部的消极情绪会让这变得更加困难。

以某种方式获得支持变得至关重要。这可能并不总是来自你的父母,但它可能来自朋友。有一个可以帮助您看到自己积极方面的人可以增强您的信心和整体幸福感。支持性的人可以帮助您获得更平衡的观点,并可以帮助提高自我接受度,因为他们往往比您更能引起您的注意。这里重要的不仅是这些人为你而存在,而且你接受他们的观点,并且你不要忽视他们对你的正面评价。

对于大多数跨性别者来说,他们可能会在生活中的某个阶段处理跨性别恐惧症,这很复杂,因为自我接纳暗示了尽可能做真实自我的先决条件。如果您不忠于自己,您就无法完全接受自己,如果您的人身安全因此受到威胁,您作为跨性别者可能无法轻易做到这一点。在大多数地方,法律都会站在您这边,如果您受到骚扰,最好举报。如果至少有一个你觉得被接受和安全的人在一起,它会对你有很大帮助。

自尊与自我接受之间的区别

自尊特别是指您如何看待自己与他人的关系,而自我接纳是指在内部将您的行为和品质与您的自我价值概念分开。随之而来的是,自我接纳比尊重更深刻。与自尊不同,自我接纳不是有条件的。

整个社会的一个主要问题是,我们大多数人只觉得我们自己是有条件地可以接受的,总会有一些关于我们自己的东西是我们无法接受的。这是许多人面临的挑战,必须解决它才能解决它。

我们必须承认,如果我们不完全接受自己,那么别人就很难接受我们,或者我们很难接受被别人接受。

跨身份和自我接受

虽然缺乏自我接纳对您的整体心理健康普遍不利,但如果您决定提高自我接纳能力,它也可以作为改善整体心理健康的坚实垫脚石。

尽管自我接纳的感觉可以显着改善我们许多人的生活,但我们仍然必须承认,在某些时候,您将面临某种形式的歧视,而这种歧视会导致痛苦。不幸的是,当我们感到痛苦时,尤其是年轻人,我们可以做一些愚蠢的事情来试图逃避痛苦。

我们还需要了解,歧视可能并不明显。这对大多数人来说都是如此,不仅对跨性别者也是如此,尽管如此,我们不能否认歧视也很可能仅仅因为你认定为跨性别者。

面对这种逆境,歧视往往会阻止我们完全接受自我以及我们的成功或失败。无论我们如何看待,无论出于何种原因受到歧视,都会让你感觉很糟糕,尤其是那些已经给你造成个人痛苦的歧视部分,而没有其他人以负面的方式指出这一点。

希望在未来的某个时候,我们将生活在一个歧视已成为过去的世界里,我们都可以自由地生活和爱。但在那之前,我们所能做的就是继续努力做我们可以真正改变的事情,尝试让自己周围有支持的人,并继续努力在我们的生活中找到一个我们可以接受自己的地方.

一旦你掌握了自我接纳,就会有一些心理上的好处值得期待。这些是:
  • 更高水平的自我表达自由感
  • 承担风险的意愿增强,做出重要决策的能力更强
  • 减少对失败的恐惧
  • 为自己而活,而不是为取悦他人而活,这会带来更真实的生活
  • 自我价值感增强
  • 对自己的失败有更高层次的内在同情心
  • 在你的生活选择中感觉更自主
  • 不需要他人认可你的选择和情况
  • 更高水平的自尊

结论性想法

尽管自我接纳有很多积极的因素可以提供,即使旅程很长,但我们必须承认一些对现实的呼唤。

在你走向自我接纳的过程中,将与性别相关的身份与性取向分开并相应地分解你生活的其他方面可能会有所帮助。您还需要接受这样一个现实,即过渡不会解决您的所有问题。虽然过渡可以带来不小的解脱和快乐,但将你的幸福完全表达出来是错误的。基本上,过渡不是自我接纳的关键;它只是其中的一小部分。

关于自我接纳需要提到的最后一件事是,你的父母可能并不总是能够完全接受你,就像人们对父母的期望一样。最后,最重要的是你需要过你自己的生活;你不能放弃你的幸福和内心的平静来取悦那些可能一辈子都不在的父母。虽然我们总是鼓励父母和孩子之间的尊重和爱,但我们也意识到这并不总是可以实现的,虽然这并不理想,但如果他们造成的弊大于利,即使是如果他们是你的父母。

免费援助
直接支付给医院。
没有标记。

    (电子邮件, WhatsApp, FB, IG, 手机)
    谢谢你!
    您提交的材料已被收到!
    哎呀!提交表格时出了点问题。

    最近的文章

Free of Charge Support for Surgeries. Payments Made Directly to Hospital.
Health & Wellness

Transgender Self Acceptance

Louise D.

Is It Different For Trans People?

Not exactly different. The things that you need to accept about yourself might be a little different from a cisgender person, but the process and outcome tend to be mostly similar.

Self-acceptance is a cornerstone to well-being, not only for transgender people but for anyone. However, when specifically looking at self-acceptance among the transgender community, an excellent place to start is to establish whether you are still questioning your gender identity or whether you have come to terms with your unique gender identity.

A Journey

Accepting yourself is not always easy and is often a journey on its own. When you are dealing with low confidence levels, when your body feels wrong, when your future is unclear, etc., the thought of having to embrace yourself can be pretty daunting. But do not despair; the best way to tackle this journey is one step at a time. Ultimately, there is no wrong way to do this, but breaking things up into much smaller steps and taking like a moment at a time can be a helpful first step.

Bite-Size Chunks

Trying to address everything at once is too overwhelming, even for people who are not trans or non-binary. It might help to realize that cisgender people also often struggle with how they see themselves, and there are often things in the life of a cisgender person that they struggle to accept. It might help you to develop an understanding that the journey of accepting yourself for who you are is quite normal, and there are many people who are struggling in this same way.

Specific to the Trans Community

When exploring self-improvement and self-acceptance as a transgender person, you might benefit from getting familiar with other transgender people’s stories and also getting comfortable with terminology related to identity and orientation. Getting a sense of what the future might hold or being able to make sense of feelings that you had in the past can be greatly helpful.

Mental Health Care Providers and Self Esteem

The struggle with self-acceptance and self-esteem can be challenging to deal with on your own, and it might be a good idea to seek professional guidance. Psychologists are specially trained in helping people to practice self-compassion, self-forgiveness and to work through any traumatic experience from your past.

Furthermore, in addition to taking care of your psychological well-being, a psychologist can also help you establish whether you are transgender and whether you want to transition, or in which way you want to transition. Some have an in-depth understanding of how transitioning works and what options are available.

In addition, especially if you are still underage, a psychologist can help you to speak to your parents, either during a shared session or preparing to talk to them on your own.

The Concept of Unconditional Self Acceptance

When you break it down, you will likely find that all self-acceptance is unconditional, but recently, therapists have been using the term “unconditional self-acceptance” to highlight the importance of it being unconditional in the first place.

The fundamental underpinning of unconditional self-acceptance is to not get stuck in the past and also to understand that you are separate from your individual qualities and actions. Meaning that you are aware of both negative and positive aspects of yourself, but you do not judge yourself based on these aspects.

One of the significant first steps to self-acceptance is not to see yourself as a victim. If you identify yourself as a victim, your negative emotions will continue to outweigh your progress to true self-acceptance and self-forgiveness. It is also a stance that disempowers you.

It is a crucial self-empowering step in your life to realize that you need help and then to seek out help and accept when offered. Remember that therapy is there for your benefit, and it can be very liberating to get things off your chest and to have a safe space to work through difficult matters.

The relationship between a therapist and a patient is highly confidential, and what is discussed in therapy is not divulged to others. This means that a therapy session can be the solid ground that you need to anchor you in between a time in your life that is otherwise plagued by rough seas.

Self-Criticism vs. Negative Self Talk

You remain your own worst critic, and this is where self-talk comes in. The difference between these two concepts is murky at best, but they are distinctly different. Self-talk comes from criticism of “the self” (a therapy term that refers to how you see yourself).

It is best understood this way: Criticism paves the way to self-talk. If you feel critical about yourself, then your self-talk will reflect this. If your criticism of yourself is positive or constructive, then your self-talk will be far more global affirmation-focused.

Self-talk is an active rhetoric that runs in your mind and is directed inward. It is one of the main components of depression but can also be addressed through therapy and behavior techniques. Examples of this type of self-talk that is negative include things like:

“I am useless”, “I can’t do anything right”, “I am a failure”.

The most common therapy technique that is taught to combat this is to change those bad things into a first step that can have a positive outcome. For example:

“I will do better next time”, “I didn’t get it right this time, but I will practice and try again later”, “I have been struggling with this lately and need to work on improving it”.

This especially helps people who are still having trouble accepting themselves and experience a lot of self-doubt. It is not an entirely positive statement, but its negativity is not a “finality”; there is room for improvement, room to move towards acceptance of self.

Any such change will take time and cannot be rushed. It is the most basic self-acceptance exercise and is widely used to improve low self-acceptance through the practice of self-compassion. It is often combined with journaling which further helps people to sort through their feelings and to put them to words. Furthermore, journaling will help you live in the moment and sort out where your focus needs to be right now.

The Benefit of a Support System on Self Esteem

It is extremely challenging to practice self-compassion and self-acceptance if the input you are receiving from everyone around you is consistently negative. In addition, you are already trying to deal with your inner critic, so having to deal with negativity from outside sources makes that more difficult.

It becomes essential to have support in some way. This might not always come from your parents, but it can likely come from friends. Having someone who can help you to see positive things about yourself can boost your confidence and overall well-being. Supportive people can help you gain a more balanced perspective and can help boost low self-acceptance because they tend to bring the good qualities that you have to your attention far more than you would. What is important here is not only that these people exist for you but also that you accept their viewpoint and that you do not ignore the positive things that they say about you.

For most trans people they will likely deal with transphobia at some point in their lives, which is complicated because self-acceptance alludes to the prerequisite of being your authentic self as far as possible. You cannot fully accept yourself if you are not living true to yourself, which you might not be readily able to do as a trans person if your personal safety is put at risk through doing so. In most places, the law will be on your side, and if you are being harassed, it might be good to make a report. It can help you a lot if there is at least one person with who you feel accepted and safe.

Difference Between Self Esteem and Self Acceptance

Self-esteem refers specifically to how you see yourself in relation to others, whereas self-acceptance refers to internally separating your actions and qualities from your concept of self-value. It then follows that self-acceptance runs deeper than esteem. Unlike self-esteem, self-acceptance is not conditional.

A major problem with society at large is that most of us only feel that we are conditionally acceptable within ourselves, that there will always be something about ourselves that we cannot accept. It is a challenge that many people face, and it is vital to address it so that it may be resolved.

We have to acknowledge that if we do not fully accept ourselves, then it will be difficult for others to accept us or for us to make peace with being accepted by someone else.

Trans Identity and Self Acceptance

While a lack of self-acceptance is universally bad for your overall mental health, it can also serve as a solid stepping stone towards the improvement of overall mental health if you decide to improve your self-acceptance.

As much as self-accepting feelings can significantly improve life for many of us, we must still acknowledge that at some point, you will face discrimination in some form or another, and that kind of discrimination leads to pain. Unfortunately, when we are in pain, especially young people, we can do stupid things to try and escape the pain.

We also need to understand that discrimination might not be outwardly apparent. This is true for most people and is not only true for trans people, although that being said, we cannot deny that discrimination is also very likely simply because you identify as transgender.

Discrimination often stops complete acceptance of the self and our success or failure in the face of this adversity. No matter how we look at it, being discriminated against, for whatever reason, makes you feel bad, especially the parts of discrimination that is already causing you personal distress without someone else pointing it out in a negative way.

Hopefully, at some time in the future, we will live in a world where discrimination is a thing of the past, and we can all freely live and love. But until that happens, all we can do is keep working on the things that we can actually change and to, try and surround ourselves with supportive people, and to keep working towards a place in our lives where we can accept ourselves for who we are.

Once you have mastered self-acceptance, there are some psychological benefits to look forward to. These are:
  • Higher levels of a sense of freedom for self-expression
  • Increased willingness to take risks and more pronounced ability to make important decisions
  • Decreased fear of failure
  • Living for yourself as opposed to living to please others, which leads to a more authentic life
  • An increased sense of self-worth
  • A higher level of inward compassion for your own failures
  • Feeling more autonomous in your life choices
  • Less need for others to approve of your choices and circumstances
  • Higher levels of self-esteem

Concluding Thoughts

Although self-acceptance has a lot of positive elements to offer, and even though the journey is long, there are some calls to the reality that we have to acknowledge.

In your journey to self-acceptance, it might be helpful to separate gender-related identity from sexual orientation and to break up other aspects of your life accordingly. You will also need to come to terms with the reality that transition will not fix all of your problems. Although transition can result in no small degree of relief and joy, it would be a mistake to state your happiness on it completely. Basically, transition is not the key to self-acceptance; it is only a small part of it.

The last thing that needs to be mentioned as thought about self-acceptance is that your parents might not always be able to accept you fully, as one would expect from a parent. In the end, what is most important is that you need to live your own life; you cannot surrender your happiness and peace of mind to please parents that will likely not be there for the rest of your life anyway. While we always encourage respect and love between a parent and child, we do also realize that is not always attainable, and although it is not ideal, it is okay to cut people out of your life if they are causing more harm than good, even if they are your parents.

Free Assistance
Pay Direct to the Hospital,
No Markups.

    (Email, WhatsApp, FB, IG, Mobile)
    Thank you!
    Your submission has been received!
    Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.

    RECENT Articles